The Chrome Horn News


11 New Inductees Enter NEAR Hall
Howie Hodge Photos

    John McCarthy, one-time Northeastern Midget Association president, made his wishes for his gravestone clear Sunday. “Seven words,” said McCarthy, “Member New England Auto Racing Hall of Fame.”
    The NEAR Hall of Fame celebrated its 10th anniversary inducting 11 new members before a crowd of 435 at the La Renaissance Banquet Hall in East Windsor, CT. Joining McCarthy were car owner/crew chief Bob Johnson, drivers Jean-Paul Cabana, John Rosati, Dave Dion, Bob Potter and Bentley Warren and the late Westboro Speedway owner/promoter John Falconi Jr.
    Drivers the late Dick Garrett and Dick Egan and car owner/track builder George Barber were Veterans Committee selections.
    Long time National Speedsport News writer Walter Renner received the Jack Ratta Memorial Media Award while Danny Pardi, a guiding force for the Hall since its inception, was given a recognition award.
    Many echoed McCarthy as the NEAR Hall of Fame membership reached 100. Potter, who has 11 championships between Waterford Speedbowl and Stafford Motor Speedway, put it on top of his many accomplishments.
    Johnson, Dion, Rosati and Warren all had similar reactions. Three-dozen Hall of Fame members were on hand to watch the proceedings under the guidance of New England Antique Racers President Pete Newsham and Master of Ceremonies Mat Buckler.
    Presenters included Dick Monahan (McCarthy), Jack Arute Jr. (Johnson), Tom Curley (Cabana, Bones Bourcier (Rosati), Lew Boyd (Falconi), Dave Moody (Dion), Pete Zanardi (Potter) and Russ Conway (Warren).

Gene Angelillo 2006
Dick Armstrong 2005
Jack Arute Sr. 2001
George Barber 2007
Gene Bergin 1998
Len Boehler 2004
Red Bolduc 2005
Vic Bombaci 2006
Ron Bouchard 2000
Smokey Boutwell 2005
Hully Bunn 2001
Moon Burgess 2003
Jean Paul Cabana 2007
Fats Caruso 2000
Rene Charland 1998
Leo Cleary 1999
on Collins 2005
Russ Conway 2006
Robbie Crouch 2006
Joe Csiki 2005
Red Cummings 2006
Ralph Cusack 2001
Fred DeSarro 1999
Dave Dion 2007
Dick Dixon 2004,
Beaver Dragon 2004
Homer Drew 2000
Dick Eagan 2007
Charlie Elliott 2000
Richie Evans 1998
Stub Fadden 2003
John Falconi Sr. 2007
Ed Flemke 1998
Red Foote 1999
Nick Fornoro Sr. 2002
Fred Frame 2004,
Ernie Gahan 1998
Dick Garrett 2007
Sharky Gaudiosi 2006
Harry Grant 2005
Billy Greco 1999.
Pete Hamilton 1998
Billy Harman 2004
Hop Harrington 1999
John Hoenig 2003
Dave Humphrey 2000
Charlie Jarzombek 2004
Bob Johnson 2007
Booker Jones 2003
Bob Judkins 2003
Johnny Kay 2006
Buddy Krebs 2000
Sonny Koszela 2002
Don LaJoie 2000
Bob Libby 2006
Phil Libby 2006
Don MacLaren 2002
Don MacTavish 2001
Dick McCabe 2002
John McCarthy 2007
Jim McGee 2006
Jocko Maggiacomo 2000
Ray Miller 2002
Ralph Moody 2000
Ron Narducci 2000
Sammy Packard 2004
Bob Polverari 2003
Bob Potter 2007
Sonny Rabideau 2005
Billy Randall 2006
Oscar Ridlon 2005
Marvin Rifchin 1999
John Rosati 2007
Joe Rosenfield 2006
Fred Rosner 2001
Don Rounds 2001
Art Rousseau 2001
S-Bobby Santos 2001
Ollie Silva 1998
Bill Schindler 2004
Boston Louie Seymour 2006
Bill Slater 1998
Ken Smith 2006
Joe Sostilio 2003
Ken Squier 2002
Bugsy Stevens 1998
Chick Stockwell 2001
George Summers 2000
Harvey Tattersall 1998
Johnny Thomson 2002
Paul Tremaine 2004
Reino Tulonen 2005
V-D.Anthony Venditti 1999
Bob Vitari 2006
Bentley Warren 2007
Dick Watson 2003
Phil Walters (Ted Tappett) 2002
Bill Welsh 1998
Eddie West 1999
Bill Wimble 2002
Dick Wolstenhulme 2006
Dennis Zimmerman 2001


Source: Peter Zanardi/ PR
Posted:  January 28, 2007

©2007 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.