The Chrome Horn News


The Whelen All American Series Debuts
at the Waterford Speedbowl

    The 2007 Waterford Speedbowl Budweiser Nationals was the inaugural event for the Whelen All American Series in New England. Whelen Manufacturing of Chester, Connecticut, is a supplier of emergency lighting, safety equipment, and emergency broadcast equipment. Whelen has served as the title sponsor of the Whelen Modified Tour as well as the Whelen Southern Modified Tour.
    The Speedbowl’s four regular weekly divisions were all in action this weekend and helped celebrate the Whelen All American Series opening event. The SK Modifieds, Bob Valenti Late Models, Sportsman division, and the New London Day Mini Stock competitors all began weekly competition. Joining the NASCAR Whelen All American Series competitors were the NEMA Midgets, Legends, Allstar Race Truck Series (ARTS), Pro-four Modifieds and the Allison Legacy Series.
    Thirty-one SKs were on hand to take time with the top 20 fastest qualifiers earning entry into the Budweiser National 150. The eleven slowest modifieds ran a “last chance” race of 20 laps, with the top six moving to Sunday’s feature event. One provisional and one promoter’s option were also awarded to bring the Bud Nationals starting field to 28 cars.
    Jimmy Blewett captured the Bud Pole Award as he set a fast time of 14.223 seconds in his SK modified. Blewett’s pole was the first pole qualifying effort for the NASCAR Whelen All American Series. Blewett, of Howell, New Jersey, is a regular competitor on the Whelen Modified Tour driving for Eddie Partridge. Blewett won the SK Championship at New Smyrna Speedway early this year, as well as the prestigious Richie Evans Memorial Tour-Type race also at New Smyrna.
    Matt Hirschman of Northampton, PA, in his #48 Troyer, was second quickest with a time of 14.257 seconds. Hirschman is a second generation modified driver – Dad Tony, is a five-time Modified Tour Champion.
    Kenny Horton Jr. of Cheshire, CT, was third quickest with a time of 14.291 seconds; Tommy Fox of Plainfield, CT, was fourth fastest at 14.323 seconds; and fifth fastest was Shawn Monahan of Waterford, CT, with a time of 14.337 seconds. Horton, Fox, and Monahan are all Speedbowl regulars.
    Rounding out the top ten qualifiers were: Don Fowler, Clinton, CT; Wendell Dailey, Gales Ferry, CT; Rob Janovic, Waterford, CT; Frank Ruocco, Cheshire, CT; and Ted Christopher, Plainville, CT.
    11) Diego Monahan, Waterford CT; 12) Rob Summers, Vernon, CT; 13) Jay Miller, East Granby, CT; 14) Ronnie Silk, Norwalk, CT; 15) Justin Gaydosh, Newtown, CT; 16) Brandon Hanson, Danbury, CT; 17) Jeff Pearl, Salem, CT; 18) Frank Mucciacarro, Milford, CT; 19) Anthony Burr, Wallingford, CT; 20) David Sazarulo, Monson, MA; 21) Jeff Pearl, Salem, CT; 22) Tyler Chadwick, Ledyard, CT; 23) Dennis Gada, Salem, CT; 24) Kurt Lenahan, Roxbury, CT; 25) Mark Pane, New Milford, CT; 26) Dennis Charrette, Southington, CT; 27) Jimmy Broderick IV, Brookfield, CT; 28) Doug Coby, Milford, CT; 29) Shelly Perry, Ashaway, RI; 30) David Mouldin, Fall River, MA; 31) Rich Duranti, Quaker Hill, CT.
    Qualifying results were somewhat surprising, as the six-time SK Speedbowl champion, Dennis Gada, was only 23rd quickest and had to run the last chance race. And Jeff Pearl, who is a normally a decent qualifier, will join Gada in the last-chance race. They will have 20 laps to try to make the field of the Bud Nationals 150. Doug Coby who was 28th fastest will have his work cut out for him as the former WMT and Speedbowl regular was disappointed with his time trial effort.
    Jeffrey Paul of Ledyard, CT, won the last chance qualifier by leading every lap. Tyler Chadwick was second, followed by Gada, Lenahan, Pane, and Charette. These six moved to the main event tomorrow. The provisional went to Rich Duranti as he met the criteria of running 75 % of the events last season at the Speedbowl. Doug Coby won the promoters option as his and the other three non-qualifying drivers’ names were placed in a hat. Coby will need divine intervention to win tomorrow as the car was seriously down on power. Going home were: Shelly Perry, Jimmy Broderick IV, and David Mouldin.
    The Budweiser National 150 will run Sunday at approx 4:15 PM. The top 6, 8, or 10 will redraw for their starting positions. Jimmy Blewett will draw the pill that determines how many redraw following the pit party tomorrow morning. The pit party will be held from 10:15 am till 11:30 PM when the fans get a chance to meet the drivers and crews.


Source  Dave Meredith/Waterford Speedbowl PR
Posted:  April 1, 2007

©2007 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.