The Chrome Horn News


Molesworth, McCormack, Jankowiak Also Win

    Justin Gumley, of Colts Neck, came away from Wall Township Speedway as Turkey Derby XXXIV modified masters Saturday. Joining Civali and Gumley in the post-Thanksgiving Day classic were divisional winners Duncan Molesworth, of Robbinsville, John McCormack, of Brick, and Andrew Jankowiak, of Buffalo, N.Y. Civali becomes the first Wall "outsider" since 1979 winner George Kent to capture the 100-lap Open Tour Modified 100-lap race. The Liberty Limousine No. 88 Raceworks-Chevrolet driver used his inherited pole to lead all 100 laps on the banked paved one-third-mile oval, finishing .430 sec. ahead of Jimmy Blewett, of Howell. Blewett, aboard his late brother John III's No. 76 Troyer-Dodge, kept on NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour runner Civali's tail the last 50 laps.
    Friday's fast-timer lost his pole in an opening lap mishap and used the first half to run from the rear of the 27-car field to second. Fellow WMT member Tony Ferrante took third among 12 finishers. The race was open to WMT, Sunoco/Dart Race of Champions Tour or other cars with 150 more horsepower and larger tires than Wall's own modifieds. Blewett was running "JBIII" 's Tour-Type and Wall NASCAR Whelen All-American Series/Small Block modified for the last time. Both cars were retired to the family museum and WTS retired the number 76 from all its divisions in a pre-race ceremony.
    Gumley put himself in the right place and time to become the 34th different WAAS/SBM Modified 100 winner. The Manchester Collision/Enterprise Rent-A-Car No. 02 Troyer-Chevy pilot was running third to leader Ken Woolley, Jr. and Rowan Pennink when Pennink overheated and Woolley began fading to fifth on lap 91. Pennink hung on to the lead from Michael Bohn by .219 sec. at the finish. Rob Schultz, Bob Boardwick and Woolley rounded out the top five of eight finishers from among 27 starters. Blewett and reigning WTS WAAS track titlist Kevin Flockhart were among the 19 nonfinishers when they collided while running one-two on lap 75. Flockhart was an early leader before pitting for tires on lap 44 - which was when Blewett took over.
    Molesworth meanwhile gave his "hometrack" fans something to cheer about in the 25-lap INEX Legends cars main. The No. 53 Mershon Concrete 600 Racing-Yamaha pilot came from sixth starting spot to the lead on lap 10 and held off all-time WTS Legends feature winner Mike Stull by .464 sec. the other 15 laps. Molesworth had graduated from the adjacent Garden State Quarter Midget Racing Club to late models at Concord, N.C.'s Hickory Motor Speedway.
    2004 WTS street stock camp McCormack took advantage of front row men Craig "Pepe" Wallis and Sal Ligouri's lap six collision to take his feature's lead. The Carpets-With-a-Twist No. 12 Pontiac Grand Prix pilot defended his Saturday 25-lap race crown by 2006 titlist Bill Vanderveen by 2.978 sec.
    Jankowiak made his 12-hour round trip pay off with a victory in the season-ending Value Towing factory Stock feature. The CleveHill Auto & Tire No. 73 1982 Chevy Monte Carlo driver grabbed the lead on lap six and held off 2005-06 class champ Rob Longo by .236 sec. after 20 laps. Lancaster (N.Y.) Speedway regular Jankowiak debuted despite electrical problems with his tow truck and a Syracuse area snow storm.
    Wall's Turkey Derby and regular season champions are to be crowned at its Feb. 2 awards banquet at Lakewood's Woodlake Country Club. WTS is to hold its first racer flea market 7 a.m.-3 p.m. Dec. 1. Contact or (732) 681-6400 for details and updates.


Source:  Walter Elliot/Wall Speedway PR
Posted:  November 24, 2007

2007 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.