The Chrome Horn News


Andy Seuss Scores First NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour Victory
Sunday at Music City Motorplex

    Andy Seuss scored his first career NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour victory in breathtaking fashion on Sunday afternoon in the Whelen 150 at Music City Motorplex.
Seuss had to do it in overtime due to a late caution that set the stage for a green-white-checkered finish. On the final restart, the Hampstead, N.H. native was looking to hold off the second-place car of Tim Brown. However Brown would not get up to speed and dropped back through the pack while L.W. Miller moved up to the runner-up position where he ultimately finished.
    “When I was a kid I dreamed about winning a NASCAR race,” Seuss said, with the traditional customized guitar given to Music City race winners in hand. “I think it’s absolutely great that NASCAR stepped up to the plate and taken over the Whelen Southern Modified Tour. It’s grown a lot in a short amount of time and it’s getting better and better all the time. Today was just a great team effort. This is a dream come true for me.
    “Now we as a team know we can win these races. I think now that I’ve won a race that the next win won’t be so hard. The one thing I really wanted to do today was gain a lot of respect and I think I did that.”
    Miller said he tried to take advantage of Brown’s problems on the final restart but simply ran out of time trying to catch Seuss.
    “We had an awesome car even though we lost power steering pretty early in the race,” Miller said. “This kind of race is what wins or loses a championship. I think this race team is exactly where we need it to be at and I can’t wait to get to Greenville-Pickens next Saturday night.”
    The top-five of Sunday’s race were Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidate Brandon Ward in his very first NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race, defending Tour champion Junior Miller in fourth with Brian King in fifth. The Top 10 was completed by Tim Brown, Wesley Swartout, Burt Myers, Chuck Hossfeld and Bobby Hutchens.
    Seuss’ margin of victory was .528 seconds. There were two cautions that slowed the field for 13 laps.
    The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour returns to action next Saturday night at Greenville-Pickens (S.C.) Speedway.

NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour-Whelen 150 Results
Sunday At Music City Motorplex
Nashville, TN
Lap length: 0.59 miles
(Start position in parentheses

 1.   (5)  Andrew Seuss, Hamstead, N.H., Chevrolet, 157 laps, 89.642 mph, $2,000.
 2.   (1)  L.W. Miller, Mooresville, N.C., Pontiac, 157, $1,500.
 3.  (19) Brandon Ward, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 157, $1,500.
 4.  (14) Junior Miller, Pine Hall, N.C., Dodge, 157, $1,100.
 5.   (3)  Brian King, Burlington, N.C., Chevrolet, 157, $1,200.
 6.   (4)  Tim Brown, Cana, Va., Chevrolet, 157, $900.
 7.   (7)  Wesley Swartout, Stroudsburg, Pa., Ford, 157, $800.
 8.   (9)  Burt Myers, Walnut-Cove, N.C., Chevrolet, 156, $1,000.
 9.  (12) Chuck Hossfeld, Ransonville, N.Y., Pontiac, 156, $650.
10.  (8)  Bobby Hutchens, Lexington, N.C., Chevrolet, 156, $600.
11. (15) Gene Pack, Myrtle Beach, S.C., Chevrolet, 156, $575.
12.  (2)  Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Chevrolet, 155, $525.
13.  (6)  George Brunnhoelzl, Babylon, N.Y., Chevrolet, 155, $500.
14. (13) Frank Fleming, Mount Airy, N.C., Pontiac, 154, $490.
15. (16) Earl Baker, Winton-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 154, $460.
16. (17) Greg Butcher, Mocksville, N.C., Chevrolet, 149, $450.
17. (10) Brian Loftin, Lexington, N.C., Chevrolet, 146, accident, $445.
18. (11) Brian Pack, Walkertown, N.C., Chevrolet, 124, brakes, $430.
19. (18) Rich Kuiken, Jr., Staffordville, N.J., Chevrolet, 14, oil leak, $420.

Race Statistics

Time of Race: 1 hour 2 minutes 0 seconds
Margin of Victory: .528 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: . ( mph, seconds)
Caution Flags: 2 for 13 laps.
Lead Changes: 6 among 4 drivers.
Lap Leaders: L.Miller 1-5; T.Brown 6-13; A.Seuss 14-28; A.Seuss 29-94; W.Swartout 95-122;
A.Seuss 123-143; A.Seuss 144-157.
Standings: 1. L.Miller, 350; 2. B.Myers, 312; 3. J.Miller, 310; 4. T.Brown, 292; 5.
B.Loftin, 277; 6. G.Brunnhoelzl, 262; 7. W.Swartout, 258; 8. B.King, 255; 9. G.Pack, 248;
10. B.Ward, 247.


Source  Dave Meredith/Waterford Speedbowl PR
Posted:  April 1, 2007

©2007 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.