The Chrome Horn News



    The rich racing history behind Bowman Gray Stadium in downtown Winston-Salem, N.C., is truly the stuff of legend, not only for the track itself, but the long list of legendary drivers that have raced at the quarter-mile facility through the years.
    Bowman Gray Stadium is the oldest track under NASCAR sanction and is known as the ‘Home of the Hot Modifieds’ as well as ‘Bowman Gray Stadium – A NASCAR Legend.’
    The very first NASCAR race at Bowman Gray was held May 18, 1949 and was won by Fonty Flock. The open-wheel Modified cars are the oldest form of NASCAR-sanctioned motorsports.
    The list of drivers that have won at Bowman Gray through the years is a long and legendary one: Curtis Turner, Ralph Earnhardt, Junior Johnson, Richard Petty, David Pearson, Bobby Allison, Tiny Lund and Marvin Pauch.
    The rich racing history and tradition at Bowman Gray isn’t lost on the Whelen Southern Modified Tour drivers that will do battle Saturday, Aug. 4 in the Advance Auto Parts 199. Qualifying is slated for Aug. 3.
    “I’ve been racing at Bowman Gray a long time,” said Junior Miller, a six-time Modified track champion since he started at Bowman Gray in 1975. “The track draws in more fans than any other track I’ve ever raced at, as far as the Modified Tour goes. I don’t know how many times I’ve been at Bowman Gray and a rainstorm will move through and they will sit out in the rain until the track dries off.
    “Bowman Gray has got to have the most loyal fans I’ve ever seen. They are truly dedicated fans.”
    Current drivers that compete in Bowman Gray’s weekly Modified division that also compete in the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour include all-time win leader Miller (67 wins), Tim Brown (37), Burt Myers (27), Frank Fleming (21), Michael Clifton (14), Bobby Hutchens (5), Brian Pack (1) and Brian Loftin (1).
    One of the most alluring aspects of the close to 20,000 fans that pack the grandstands on a weekly basis at Bowman Gray are the rivalries that have developed through the years.
    “They either love you or hate you at Bowman Gray,” Miller said. “They are going to holler at you one way or the other to let you know how they feel.”


    Myers Success: The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will be racing at Bowman Gray for the third straight year next Saturday night, and a pair of brothers share several records during the brief stint.
    Burt Myers holds both the record for a one-lap qualifying speed at Bowman Gray last August.
    Jason Myers is the most recent record-holder in the Whelen Southern Modified Tour at Bowman Gray, which is his first and only career victory on the Whelen Southern Modified Tour last August.
    The younger of the Myers brothers won last year’s Advance Auto Parts 199 at a time of one hour, six minutes and 13 seconds. The average speed was 45.079 mph.
    Standing Alone: Jay Hedgecock is the only Whelen Southern Modified Tour driver to post a top-five finish in each race so far at Bowman Gray Stadium. Hedgecock finished fourth in 2005 and fifth last season.
    August Birthdays: The month of August is quickly approaching and several members of the Whelen Southern Modified Tour racing family will be celebrating birthdays.
    They are listed in alphabetical order, with their upcoming birthdays in parentheses: April Biggs (1st), Bob Brewer (20th), Marty Butner (18th), Natalie Byrd (24th), Michael Collins (3rd), Jeffrey Deminck (21st), Skip Fox (22nd), Chris Heegen (3rd), Irvin Holley (1st), Joey Mancari (30th), Tim Mansfield (13th), Paul Mecca (17th), Jason Mitchell (14th), Jason Olsen (15th, Gene Pack (11th), Stephen Raynor (12th), Steve Seuss (28th), Bobby Sparks (9th), Jason Trinchere (11th) and Jeff York (1st).
    King of Qualifiers: Burt Myers has been a man on a mission this year in Whelen Southern Modified Tour competition as far as qualifying goes. He has won the Bud Pole Award in the first five events of the 2007 season and heads back to Bowman Gray looking to extend his record for six straight poles this year.

Fast Facts

What: Advance Auto Parts 199
NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour.
Race: # 6 of 12
Where: Bowman Gray Stadium, Winston-Salem, N.C.
When: 8:45 p.m., Saturday, Aug. 4
Track layout: .25-mile oval
Distance: 199 Laps, 49.75 miles.
Posted Awards: $24,272
2006 winner: Jason Myers
2006 polesitter: Burt Myers
Records: Qualifying, Burt Myers, 13.812 (65.161 mph), Aug. 5, 2006
Pre-race schedule: Friday, Aug. 3 – Practice, 5:30 p.m. Qualifying, 8:30 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 4 – Practice, 8:45 p.m. Race, 8:45 p.m.
Note: All times subject to change.

NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour Top 10: 1. L.W. Miller, 801; 2. Junior Miller, 780; 3. Burt Myers, 773; 4. Tim Brown, 725; 5. Jason Myers, 691; 6. Brian King, 679; 7. Bobby Hutchens, 655; 8. George Brunnhoelzl, 648; 9. Brian Pack, 639; 10. Frank Fleming, 637.

Track Contact: Loren Pinilis, (336) 765-6802


Source  Jason Christley/NASCAR WSMT PR
Posted:  July 26, 2007

©2007 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.