The Chrome Horn News



    Spirits were darkened during what should have been the celebratory start of racing season at Thompson International Speedway. Shane Hammond, age 27, of Halifax, MA, succumbed to injuries sustained on lap four of the Northeastern Midget Association feature event. The thoughts and prayers of the entire racing community are with Hammond’s family.
    A formal statement will be forthcoming from Thompson Speedway management. (See below)
    The traditional Icebreaker at Thompson International Speedway culminated with feature events for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and the NASCAR All-American Series Weekly Racing Series. A cold rain settled into the speedway shortly after the halfway marker of the scheduled 150 lap event for the Modifieds causing NASCAR to shorten the event at lap 92. Eddie Flemke, Jr. was declared the winner. Chuck Hossfeld of Buffalo, NY, made a strong return to the Mystic Missile to finish second. Bobby Grigas III of Marshfield, MA, had a career best finish to come home third.
    The second half of the Icebreaker Twin bill for the Late Models and the Sunoco Modifieds was postponed due to rain. Before the rains came, Mike O’Sullivan of Springfield, MA, checkered the Pro Stocks while Jesse Gleason of Lisbon, CT, scored the victory in the Limited Sportsman division. Danny Fields of Deep River, CT was tops in the Mini Stocks and Glenn Boss of Danielson, CT took top TIS Modifieds honors. The Northeastern Midget Association collectively agreed to cancel their event.
    Mike O’Sullivan of Springfield, MA, started his Pro Stock title defense with a win at the Icebreaker. Norm Wrenn took the lead early; edging out to a sizable lead before O’Sullivan began to cut into the lead. The margin was erased when the first caution of the event flew on lap #10 when Dennis Maxfield made hard contact with the outside wall.
    On the ensuing restart, O’Sullivan was able to get the edge and take the lead from Wrenn. Jay Macedonio was making tracks toward the front when the caution flew again for a spin by Jeff Connors. A second attempt at a restart found Adam Norton against the outside wall. While Wrenn chased leader O’Sullivan under green, it was getting busy for third between Fred Astle, Jr., Dave Darling, Jay Macedonio, and a hard-charging Jeff Zuidema. Astle was fending off the challenges of Darling.
    In the closing laps, Darling in his continued pursuit drifted high in the turn four in an attempt at Astle. The move opened the door for Macedonio and Zuidema. Astle was able to maintain second and Darling was able to retain his position. Macedonio meanwhile lost ground giving up the spot to Zuidema.
    They would make the final run to the checkers in that order. O’Sullivan was the winner followed by Wrenn, Astle, Darling and Zuidema.
    Jesse Gleason of Lisbon, CT, wired the field to score the coveted Icebreaker victory in the Limited Sportsman division. Gleason had his hands full with veteran competitor Larry Barnett to earn the win. For much of the event the lead was hotly contested by the duo. Barnett closed in on several occasions but could not muster up a pass on Gleason. In the end, Gleason took the checkers over Barnett. Scott Sundeen joined the veterans on the podium. Ed Puleo and Scott Cook completed the top five.
    Track position was the key during the day and Glenn Boss took full advantage. Boss jumped out to the early lead and went on throughout the event to stretch his lead. The man on the move was Kurt Vigeant, who after getting out of shape earlier in the event, fought his way back through the field. Boss went on to lead every lap en route to his feature victory on Icebreaker Sunday for the TIS Modified division. Vigeant put on a show coming back to finish second. RJ Marcotte, Shane Michalski, and Anderson Oliveira.
    A championship Mini Stocker Danny Fields of Deep River, CT, invaded Thompson to score the victory in the opener for Mini Stock division. By virtue of his heat race win on Saturday, front row starter Fields jumped out to the early lead. Fields would never be headed during the green to checker 15-lap main event. Defending champion Mike Romano finished second. Rick Blanchard, Steve Michalski, and Eric Bourgeois rounded out the top five.
    The make-up dates for the Sunoco Modified and Late Model divisions will be announced on in the coming days. Racing action returns to Thompson Speedway for the opening Thursday Night Thompson Thunder on May 22, 2008.

    A complete race report for the Whelen Modified Tour is available online at

    Pro Stock Feature Finish (Top Ten): 1. Mike O’Sullivan, Springfield, MA; 2. Norm Wrenn, Nashua, NH; 3. Fred Astle, Jr., Westport, MA; 4. Dave Darling, Seekonk, MA; 5. Jeff Zuidema, N. Brookfield, MA; 6. Jay Macedonio, Somerset, MA; 7. Mike Brightman, Acushnet, MA; 8. George Bessette, Danbury, CT; 9. Todd Owen, Somers, CT; 10. Buzz Eriksen, Jr., Baldwin, NY.

    Limited Sportsman Feature Finish (Top Ten): 1. Jesse Gleason, Lisbon, CT; 2. Larry Barnett, Ledyard, CT; 3. Scott Sundeen, Douglas, MA; 4. Ed Puleo, Brandford, CT; 5. Scott Cook, Uncasville, CT; 6. Joe Arena, Kensington, CT; 7. Randy Jurcik, Chaplin, CT; 8. Jay Sundeen, Douglas, MA; 9. Gerald Sebigny, Brooklyn, CT; 10. Paul Palen, Pelham, NH.

    TIS Modifieds Feature Finish (Top Ten): 1. Glenn Boss, Danielson, CT; 2. Kurt Vigeant, Oxford, MA; 3. RJ Marcotte, Millville, MA; 4. Shane Michalski, Woodstock, CT; 5. Anderson, Oliveira, Raynham, MA; 6. Cam McDermott, Scituate, RI; 7. Richie Ferreira, Raynham, MA; 8. John Studley, Framingham, MA; 9. Brian Tagg, Oxford, MA; 10. Bart Ramos, Sterling, CT.

    Mini Stock Feature Finish (Top Ten): 1. Danny Fields, Deep River, CT; 2. Mike Romano, Pascoag, RI; 3. Rick Blanchard, Pascoag, RI; 4. Steve Michalski, Dayville, CT; 5. Eric Bourgeois, East Haddam, CT; 6. Ron Rixham, Jefferson, MA; 7. Roger Ducharme, Foster, RI; 8. Jason Paquette, Norwich, CT; 9. Scott Jassaume, Danielson, CT; 10. Robert O’Connell, Wrentham, MA.

[Follow-up Story]


Source:  Russ Dowd / Thompson International Sreedway PR
Posted:  April 6, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.