The Chrome Horn News



   Matt Hirschman led all 125 laps on his way to a victory at All-Star Speedway on Saturday night, as he earned $5,200. It was the second time in ten days that Hirschman has led every lap of a Tour-Type Modified Open Show, and his fourth major event victory in two weeks. He nearly lost the lead when All-Star Speedway regular Josh Cantara worked the outside lane to perfection on Hirschman, surging ahead of the favorite on lap 24. As Cantara appeared to get the upper hand, the first caution of the race kept Hirschman out front for the restart.
   During the caution Cantara pitted for fuel, as his car only had a 15 gallon fuel cell, and then he was caught up in the only significant incident of the night. Bobby Grigas slowed suddenly on the backstretch on lap 64 while running in the top ten, and a multicar crash occurred behind him.
   Hirschman was chased by Chris Pasteryak, then Ronnie Silk, and later Jon McKennedy from the second position, but none were able to duplicate Cantara's run to the outside of Hirschman.
   McKennedy moved by Pasteryak for the second position on lap 109. Although McKennedy was able to close the gap on Hirschman, the laps ran out before he could get an opportunity to try and make a pass. Hirschman earned an extra $200 by winning the Koszela Speed Halfway Bonus money. Positions changed frequently in the closing laps behind the leaders, as several drivers appeared to struggle with tire wear. Mike Ordway Jr. advanced the most positions in his first-ever "open show" Modified race, as he drove the Gary Casella owned car to the $200 Laticrete Hard Charger Award.
   Heat races, which paid $150 to win courtesy of race fan Jim Schaefer, were won by Ronnie Silk and Chris Pasteryak.

   WaterSnoGo 125 Finish: Matt Hirschman, Jon McKennedy, Chris Pasteryak, Jimmy Kuhn, Ryan Preece, Ken Barry, Mike Ordway Jr., Jimmy Blewett, Ronnie Silk, Mike Stefanik, Andy Seuss, Kenny White, Eric LeClair, Tommy Cravenho, Bill Clement, Brett Gonyaw, Josh Cantara, Carl Pasteryak, Bobby Grigas, Bruce Batchelder.


Source:  All-Star Speedway PR
Posted:  July 26, 2008

2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.