The Chrome Horn News



   With the Northern qualifying race schedule already in place, C&C Racing Promotions set out to finalize the calendar for both the Southern Modifieds and the Supermodifieds races as part of this year’s 6th Annual John Blewett III Memorial North-South Shootout TM and East-West Supermodified Shootout TM. The end result is a comprehensive schedule that is representative of both the sanctioning bodies and geographic scope of those that participate in the annual event.
   Since its inception, C&C Racing Promotions, in cooperation with top race promoters on the east coast, has hosted a number of qualifying events. The winning car owner of each designated qualifying race is awarded a guaranteed starting spot in their respective divisions.
   “We are very happy with this year’s schedule,” said Race Promoter, Charles Kepley of Lexington, NC. “The line-up of qualifying races is a good mix of all the Series that join together to race at the Shootout every year. There is a fair shot for those guys to get a win and head to Concord knowing they are in the race.”
   In its inaugural season the East-West Supermodified Shootout TM attracted teams from across the country. In 2008, C&C Racing Promotions hopes to continue with that tradition. To help teams along the way, C&C has announced a nine-race qualifier schedule. The winning car owners at two (2) International Supermodified Association (ISMA) races, two (2) Midwest Supermodified Association (MSA) races, two (2) Supermodified Racing Association (SMRA) races, two (2) Englewood Racing Association (ERA) and two “open” shows will receive guaranteed starting spots for their teams. Charlie Schultz, Chris Perley, and Brian Warf have already secured starting spots for their respective car owners in events held at Sandusky and Madera Speedways.
   The West Coast swing includes the August 30, 2008 and September 6, 2008 events at Colorado National for the ERA contingent; and the September 20, 2008 Harvest Classic at Madera (CA) Speedway for SMRA. The “open” events will include the August 31, 2008 Classic (Non-Wing) at Oswego Speedway; and the All-Star Classic on September 6, 2008 at All-Star Speedway in Epping, NH. A final event for the MSA sanctioned teams will be added at Toledo Speedway in Ohio.
   For the Modified teams hailing from south of the Mason-Dixon line, the schedule is split between the two primary sanctioning bodies in the South-the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour (WSMT) and the ASA Southern Modified Race Tour. The Whelen Southern Modified Tour events at Caraway Speedway on August 22, 2008 and at Southern National Speedway on September 13, 2008 will both carry guaranteed starting spots for the winning car owners. The ASA Southern Modified Race Tour will host their second qualifying event on October 25, 2008 at Hickory Speedway. Brian King won the first ASA qualifier on May 23, 2008 at Ace Speedway.
   The crown jewel of the southern Modified qualifying events will be the Brian Pack Memorial that will be held on September 1, 2008 also at Ace Speedway.
   “This will be a very emotional night for everyone involved in short track racing down South,” said Kepley. “This race will mean a lot to the team that wins it, not only for the qualifying spot but because of it’s importance as a tribute to Brian Pack.”
   Since its inception, Brian Pack and his family, including his fellow racer, his father Gene, have been avid supporters of the North-South Shootout TM.
   A host of qualifying races have already been run for the Modifieds, SK-Type Modifieds, and Supermodifieds. Drivers Ronnie Silk of Norwalk, CT, and Jimmy Blewett of Howell, NJ, have already secured their spots in the line-up for the annual event. Southern Modified competitor Brian King also has scored himself a guaranteed starting spot in the Modified portion of the event.
   In Supermodified qualifiers, Charlie Schultz of Lorain, OH, Chris Perley of Rowley, MA, and Bryan Warf, of Meridian, ID, have each earned a berth in the East-West Supermodified Shootout TM. Three drivers took advantage of North-South Shootout TM qualify race events to earn guaranteed starting spots for their car owners in the SK-Type Modified portion of the North-South Shootout™ including Doug Coby of Milford, CT, Tyler Chadwick of Ledyard, CT, Henry Stampfl of Plainville, MA.
   In addition to the guaranteed starting spots for their owners, each driver capturing a victory in qualifying race action will receive a Joie of Seating gift certificate and a custom commemorative award courtesy of C&C Racing Promotions, proud promoters of the North-South Shootout TM.
   A comprehensive look at everything North-South Shootout TM, including complete details on all qualifying events, can be found by logging on to


Source: Dale Wolbrink / North-South Shootout PR
Posted: August 25, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.