The Chrome Horn News



   The All-Star Nationals Weekend on October 24 and 25, highlighted in part by the season finale of the four race WaterSnoGo All-Star Modified Showdown Series, has just gotten bigger as a result of the generosity of race fan Jim Schaefer, better known as "LongIslandModManiac" from the website
   The 100-lap event paying $3,000 to the winner will now feature six laps paying $200 each, to the leader of laps 3, 8, 40, 61 and 83 sponsored by Schaefer, and a lap 50 halfway bonus sponsored by Laticrete International.
This means that, with the balance of the first ten laps already sold at $50 per lap, a driver leading just the first ten laps of the race will pocket an extra $800 in lap money. Another anonymous race fan has also asked to sponsor 20 more laps at $50 per lap, helping boost the current lap money total, all to be paid out to the drivers on Saturday night, to well over $4,000.
   With this kind of money for leading laps, the Friday night heat races will take on an added significance, as drivers such as Mike Stefanik, 2008 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Champion Ted Christopher, 2008 ROC Champion Matt Hirschman, Rob Summers, Jon McKennedy, Ronnie Silk, Bobby Grigas, Andy Seuss and Rowan Pennink will be among those vying for the extra cash.
In an effort to get the remaining laps sold, track owner Bobby MacArthur is offering anyone who sponsors one of the remaining laps, admission to the grandstand area at half price for either a two day ticket, or a Saturday only ticket. For more information on sponsoring a lap you can send an e-mail to:, or ask if any laps remain unsold when you arrive at the track, for the discount.
   The WaterSnoGo Series has featured some very competitive racing in 2008, with Stefanik, Christopher and Hirschman each earning victories in the first three events. The 100-lap green-flag only Modified race is tentatively scheduled to begin at 6:45 PM.
   Immediately following the Modified event, the Big Block Supermodifieds will line up for their 50-lap race paying $2,500 to the winner. Close to 20 cars are expected for that race, with Chris Perley, Jon McKennedy, Bentley Warren, Russ Wood and Mike Ordway Jr. among the favorites. Following that event will be a 150-lap Super Late Model race, as Ben Rowe, Russ Heresy and Barry Gray race for the $5,000 winners share.
   Admission is $30 for the Saturday "Features-Only" program, with all qualifying taking place on Friday evening. For a complete schedule of weekend events log onto:


Source: All*Star Speedway
Posted: October 22, 2008

2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.