The Chrome Horn News



   Early afternoon thunderstorms that rolled through the Perry, NY area on Saturday afternoon left enough moisture behind which made the task of running the races on Saturday impossible.
   Officials of the Wyoming County International Speedway waited as long as they could to make a decision due to the quality field of Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modifieds that had already assembled. Unfortunately the decision to cancel the show was made a couple of hours ahead of the scheduled starting time due to saturated grounds from the rain.
   At this time no make up date has been announced.
   Up next for the Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour is their first of two visits this year to the Dunn Tire Raceway Park. The track formerly known as the Lancaster Speedway holds a special place in the history of not only asphalt Modified racing but also in the history of the Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour.
   On June 28th at Dunn Tire is the 50th Anniversary Show for the track and a 100 lap Modified feature will take place. A stellar field of asphalt Modifieds is expected to be in competition on this night as the RoC Tour regulars will be hooking up with the local favorites who call Dunn Tire home.
   Looking at the current Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour point standings. Tommy Farrell, III of Neptune, NJ is the current leader by seven markers over defending Tour champion Pete Brittain of Oakhurst, NJ. Binghamton, NY driver Daren Scherer sets in third just two points behind Brittain and nine behind Farrell. Rick Kluth of Brockport, NY currently rides in fourth just five markers behind Scherer and 14 from the point lead. Veteran Jan Leaty of Williamson, NY is fifth in points just one behind Kluth and 15 from the lead.
   Top 15 in points are; Tommy Farrell, III 87, Pete Brittain 80, Daren Scherer 78, Rick Kluth 73, Jan Leaty 72, Billy Putney 68, John Markovic 66, Matt Hirschman 65, Rick Kirkendall 60, Jim Storace 57, Brian DeFebo 55, Eric Beers 54, Bobby Jones 54, Rusty Smith 53, Sege Fidanza 53.
   The Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour is sponsored by; Dart Machinery, Gater Racing Photo News, Hoosier racing Tire, Sunoco Race Fuels, PBM Performance Products, Total Seal Piston Rings, Dura Bond, Competition Engineering by Moroso, Dynatech, Xceldyne, Afco, CV Products, and LA Sleeve.
   For more information on the Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour please call 607-775-5555 or log on to the World Wide Web at;


Source: JR's Motorsports Media / RoC Dart Asphalt Modified Series
Posted:  June 14, 2008

2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/