The Chrome Horn News



   After having their last two scheduled events rained out the Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour is looking to get back to racing this Saturday night July 19th at the Oswego Speedway.
   In the first race of the Tour this year back on May 24th Matt Hirschman won the Richie Evans Memorial over Jan Leaty and Tommy Farrell, III. All three drivers have indicated to RoC Dart Tour officials that they plan to be in attendance this Saturday for the Summer 100. These drivers are just three of many who have circled their calendar for July 19th and the 100 lap Modified feature at the Oswego Speedway.
   After the first two races of the Tour a surprise point leader is the early story as Neptune, New Jersey driver Tommy Farrell, III leads the point standings. Defending RoC Tour champion Pete Brittain is next in line with Daren Scherer continuing his improvement in the point standings as he sits in third. Rick Kluth parlayed a great finish at Mahoning Valley to vault into fourth in the points with veteran Jan Leaty who is always a threat to win at Oswego sitting in fifth.
   Gate times for July 19th at Oswego sees the pits opening at one in the afternoon. Hot laps and grandstand gates open at 2:30 in the afternoon with the first heat slated to hit the track at 5 p. m.
   For more information on this show please contact RoC at 607 775 5555 or Oswego at 315 342 0646 or log on to the World Wide Web at; or
   The Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour is sponsored by; Dart Machinery, Hoosier Racing Tires, Gater Racing News, Sunoco Race Fuels, PBM Performance Products, Total Seal Piston Rings, Dura Bond, Competition Engineering By Moroso, Dynatech, Xceldyne, Afco, CV Products, LA Sleeve.
   Top 15 in points are; Tommy Farrell, III 87, Pete Brittain 80, Daren Scherer 78, Rick Kluth 73, Jan Leaty 72, Billy Putney 68, John Markovic 66, Matt Hirschman 65, Rick Kirkendall 60, Jim Storace 57, Brian DeFebo 55, Eric Beers 54, Bobby Jones 54, Rusty Smith 53, Sege Fidanza 53.


Source: JR's Motorsports Media / RoC Dart Asphalt Modified Series
Posted:  July 15, 2008

2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/