The Chrome Horn News



   The Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour has five races left in the season to determine their 2008 champion. The first five races of the year have been exciting as a very close point battle is shaping up. Now the final five races of the year will go a long ways in determining who will be the 2008 Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour Champion.
   This Sunday afternoon August 17th the Chemung Speedrome will kick off the five race RoC Dart Championship Series with a 150 lap event taking place. The lightning quick Chemung Speedrome is always a test of man and machine and the 150 lap feature distance will be a huge test of both. Then toss in tire management and overall race strategy and this makes the outcome a question of who will master Chemung on Sunday afternoon August 17th.
   Of course defending RoC Dart Tour champion Pete Brittain will be on hand along with Matt Hirschman, Billy Putney, Daren Scherer, Jan Leaty, Rick Kluth, John Markovic, Earl Paules, and many more of the RoC Tour regulars.
   The hometown Chemung Speedrome regulars who have Modified rides lined up for this exciting afternoon of racing will have plenty of say in the outcome of the 150 lap feature. Defending Chemung NASCAR Modified track champion Tony Hanbury will have a huge say on who is going to win the feature on this day. As Tony just about owns Saturday night racing at the track. You can’t forget about former track regular TJ Potrzebowski who really knows his way around d Chemung as he’ll be a big threat to win too. Then you never can count out any member of the Kent Family in a race at Chemung as they certainly know their way around the track also. It is anticipated that JR Kent will be in a Modified on this day.
   Gates are slated to open at Noon on Sunday August 17th with hot laps beginning at one in the afternoon and racing starting promptly at 2 p.m. For more information please contact RoC at 607 – 775 – 5555 or Chemung at 607 – 529 – 9998 or log on to the World Wide Web at; or
   The Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour is sponsored by; Dart Machinery, Gater Racing News, Hoosier Racing Tire, Sunoco Race Fuels, PBM Performance Products, Total Seal Piston Rings, Dura – Bond, Competition Engineering by Moroso, Dynatech, Xceldyne, Afco, CV Products, LA Sleeve.


Source: JR's Motorsports Media / RoC Dart Asphalt Modified Series
Posted:  August 7, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/