The Chrome Horn News



   Violent thunderstorms that featured dangerous lightning, damaging winds, and heavy rains hit the Dunn Tire Raceway Park on Saturday night as the Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour was lining up their 100 lap feature.
   After looking over potential rain dates Dunn Tire management along with Race of Champions officials settled on a Sunday afternoon August 24th rain date. Pit gates will open at 10 a. m. with hot laps beginning at 11 a. m., grandstand gates will open at Noon with the first race starting at 2 p.m. Rain checks from the grandstands will be honored on that day just by showing them and for people in the pits they will need to give their name at the pit sign in window to receive admittance to the pit area on this afternoon.
   Twenty – eight RoC Dart Modifieds came to race in Dunn Tire’s 50Th Anniversary show on Saturday under threatening weather conditions. Sege Fidanza, Matt Hirschman, and Tom McGrath won the three heat races and no consi was run. That was in part to Dunn Tire management wanting to get the show so they added the additional two cars at their expense.
   On Sunday August 24th the 100 lap 50th Anniversary feature will see Buck Catalano and Erick Rudolph leading the 28 car field to green. The field is set and no new drivers will be added to the field, all drivers will be allowed to start the race on four new tires.
   Notes from Saturday saw another member of the Zacharias Racing Family taking to the track as 16 year old TJ Zacharias qualified easily as a backup driver. Chris Zacharias was slated to run the former Buck Catalano driven car but the driver’s seat was giving Chris problems so he backed out of the ride.
   The rain was a blessing for Jim Storace and Dave Wollaber as separate heat race incidents found both drivers being towed into the pit area. Reports from the Wollaber camp said they were done for the evening while Storace was going to make the feature. Now both drivers will have their cars in good working order come August 24th.
   Pre – feature awards saw Mark Tychoniewicz win the $1,200 set of Dart Heads while Dave Wollaber won the $500 Gater Racing News Driver Bonus Draw.
   The Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour is sponsored by; Dart Machinery, Gater Racing Photo News, Hoosier Racing Tire, Sunoco Race Fuels, PBM Performance Products, Total Seal Piston Rings, Dura – Bond, Competition Engineering by Moroso, Dynatech, Xceldyne, Afco, CV Products, and LA Sleeve.


Source: JR's Motorsports Media / RoC Dart Asphalt Modified Series
Posted:  August 10, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/