The Chrome Horn News



    The “welcome home” sign will be waving Saturday night when the True Value Modified Series returns to Waterford Speedbowl for the Connecticut Army National Guard 100. Ted Christopher, Dale Holdridge, Chris Pasteryak and Ed Dachenhausen, all successful in the past, will be returning.
Kirk Alexander, after a third win in as many starts, leads the TVMS back to the Speedbowl. Alexander, the defending champ, came from deep in the field to win last fall, taking advantage of the ‘Bowl’s outside groove. Dale Evonsion, Jon McKennedy, Les Hinckley, Jack Bateman, Chris Wenzel and Rob Goodenough are also contenders.
    Dennis Gada is guaranteed a spot by virtue of his victory in last week’s SK-Modified feature. Shawn Monahan will be taking on the TVMS invaders as well.
    The SK-Modifieds (35 laps), Late Models (30), Sportsman (20) and Mini Stocks (20) are also on the program. Qualifying starts at 4:30.
    The Army National Guard Dale Earnhardt Jr. show car will part of a dazzling “military appreciation” display that will include humvees, fire-fighting apparatus and bridge building equipment.
    Heat races are the only way in to a TVMS feature, guaranteeing an action-packed program. With lap times very impressive in all divisions so far this season, there is great anticipation to find out just how quick the more powerful TVMS cars will be.
    Christopher will be looking to make history in the Rick Czarnecki #20. He has won in three touring divisions – NASCAR Modifieds, Midgets and Pro 4s – at the Speedbowl. A fourth would further insure a spot in ‘Bowl folklore for the 1993 SK champion.
    Pasteryak, Holdridge and Dachenhausen have all been successful in several divisions at the Speedbowl. Each has multiple SK victories. Holdridge also has Sportsman and Late Model wins.
    Three races in and already the point battles are raging. Gada, after a record seventh SK championship, leads Tyler Chadwick by 10 and Jeff Pearl by 12. Keith Rocco and Frank Ruocco are each 22 back.
    Ron Yuhas Jr. posted his first ever Late Model win last week and now sits six behind point leader Bruce Thomas Jr. Rookie Marc Curtis Jr. is 12 back in third.
    Despite two wins, Randy Churchill trails defending Mini Stock champion Ted Cassidy Jr. by two while Chris Douton sits atop the Sportsman standings, four up on Al Stone III and 10 better than Joshua Galvin.


Source: Waterford Speedbowl / Waterford Speedbowl PR
Posted:  May 1, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/