The Chrome Horn News



   With his young son in the grandstands to watch his Dad race for the first time, Windsor Locks, CT., modified racer Les Hinckley roared to victory Saturday night June 21, at the Waterford , CT. , Speedbowl, capturing the “Town Fair 100.” Twenty-six race teams from throughout New England entered the True Value Modified Racing Series sanctioned program. The win was Hinckley ’s first of 2008 and his 10th career victory with the TVMRS.
   The event was marred by several crashes, one that caused heavy damage to a safety barrier requiring immediate attention before the race could continue. The first of two red flag delays fell minutes short of one hour while track employee’s repaired (welded) the damaged area and drivers sat in their racers waiting for the race to continue.
   Mike Holdridge, Madison , CT. , pole sitter and a former regular competitor at the Speedbowl, jumped into the lead at the drop of the green flag, set a fast pace, and led the first 12 laps until a caution flag was displayed for an eight car pile-up. The situation changed to a red flag because of track blockage and the damage suffered to the safety barrier. Seven of the racers involved were able to return to the competition.
   On the restart, Hinckley passed Holdridge for the lead and was never headed. Hinckley held off constant challenges from Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon , CT. , and later Dwight Jarvis, the 2006 series champion, but the second generation driver was able hold on to the top spot.
   The race was slowed again on laps 19, 20, and 27. On the restart, with Hinckley on the point, the race stayed green until lap 69 when a yellow flag was displayed for a harmless spin involving Waterford regular Jeff Pearl.
   When the race resumed, Jarvis pressured Hinckley for first place but Jarvis made contact with the back stretch wall cutting down a tire and suffering damage that forced the veteran to the sidelines on lap 70.
   From that point on, Hinckley opened a sizeable lead only to be slowed by another caution flag on lap 89, and again on the restarting lap. This time four cars were involved resulting in another red flag delay. Dale Evonsion and Sean Bodreau suffered severe damage to their cars that could force them out of action for a long period.
   When the green flag was displayed, Hinckley went on to secure the win followed by Pasteryak, Holdridge, defending champion, Kirk Alexander, and Vinnie Annarummo making up the top five. Jack Bateman, David Pinkham, Eddy Spiers, and Rob Goodenough, finished on the lead lap. Jarvis rounded out the top ten, two laps down.
   It was the first time the top three finishing positions were swept by Connecticut drivers at a Connecticut race track by three second generation drivers. Les Hinckley 2nd, Charlie Pasteryak (still active), and Dale Holdridge campaigned modified race cars in Connecticut and throughout New England for many years.

Race Summary:
Waterford Speedbowl, Waterford , CT
June 21, 2008

Caution Periods: (9 total) Laps 12, (red flag) 19, 19, 20, 27, 69, 70, 89,89 (red flag)
26 cars entered the event, 26 cars started with 12 of the 26 starters finishing.
Race Time - - 1:54:02.359
Black Mountain Painting Half Way Award: Hinckley
Sunoco Hard Charger Award: Vinnie Annarummo (started 26th, finished 5th)

“Town Fair 100” Results

1. Les Hinckley, 2. Chris Pasteryak, 3. Mike Holdridge, 4. Kirk Alexander, 5. Vinnie Annarummo Jr., 6. Jack Bateman, 7. David Pinkham, 8. Eddy Spiers, 9. Rob Goodenough, 10. Dwight Jarvis, 11. Jeff Pearl, 12. Kenny White Jr., 13. Dale Evonsion, 14. Stephen Masse, 15. Sean Bodreau, 16. David Berube, 17. Shawn Monahan, 18. Shelly Perry, 19. Ted Christopher, 20. Todd Owen, 21. Ed Dachenhausen, 22. Matt Hudon, 23. Dennis Gada, 24. Jimmy Dolan, 25. Joe Doucette

Next Event: Wiscasset Raceway, Wiscasset , Maine
June 28, 2008 @ 5:00 P.M.


Source: John H. Spence Sr./True Value Modified Racing Series
Posted:  June 22, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/