The Chrome Horn News



   Three-time champion Kirk Alexander passed race leader Peter Jarvis on lap 22 and went on to win the True Value Modified Racing Series sanctioned “Firecracker 100” race Saturday night, July 5, at Monadnock Speedway, Winchester, NH. A large holiday weekend crowd saw the Swanzey, NH., veteran win his fourth race of 2008 and his 30th career win in five seasons with the TVMRS. Alexander is the all-time feature winner on the tour and the only racer to win at every race track the series has competed at.
   With present point leader David Pinkham, Buxton , ME. , sidelined by engine woes during qualifying, Alexander’s victory draws him closer to the top of the point standings. He entered Saturday’s race only 20 points behind Pinkham. Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon , ME. , entered the race second in the standings.
   On lap 25, 2006 champion, Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT. , passed brother Peter to move into second and began a long chase of Alexander that lasted until the checkered flag. Dwight raced many laps side by side with Alexander, especially on re-starts, only to have the #43 pull away each time.
   Veteran driver Jack Bateman of Canaan , NH., passed Peter Jarvis on lap 37 to take over the third spot. Bateman would stay there until the end for his best finish of the season. Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford , MA., went by P. Jarvis on lap 60 to move into fourth where he would finish with Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, nailing down a fifth place finish.
   Pasteryak checkered sixth with Belchertown, MA., driver Bryan Shumway, Dale Evonsion, E. Hartland, CT., Mike Holdridge, Madison , CT. , and Ed Dachenhausen, Danbury , CT. rounding out the top ten.
   With both Alexander and D. Jarvis already “guaranteed” starters for the New England Race Fuels sponsored, “Mod-Mania” weekend at Thompson , CT. , in September, Bateman, with his third place finish, receives the guaranteed spot.
   22 cars started the 100 lap grind with nine of those competitors finishing on the lead lap.
   Four caution flags slowed the race that took 40 minutes, 51 seconds to complete. Bateman turned the fastest race lap at 12.846
   Veteran driver Ken Bouchard, Fitchburg , MA., competing in his first race with the TVMRS finished 20th..Bouchard completed only 58 laps. He was involved in a mishap when several cars came together on a re-start and Bouchard ran into Shumway who had spun sideways.
   The next event for the TVMRS is Friday July 11 at Lee USA Speedway, Lee , NH . at 7:15 PM Race sponsor is Manchester , NH radio station “96.5 The Mill” In honor of the sponsor, the race distance will be 96 laps.
   For the second weekend in a row, modified ace Ted Christopher was beaten at the line, this time in a heat race. Alexander tried to pass Christopher on the low side of turn four for several laps. Alexander, on the last lap, opted for the outside and when he pulled up along side of Christopher, they crossed the line with what looked like a dead heat. Transponders had Alexander winning by 0.001,the same margin in the now famous finish at NHMS the week before.

Race Summary: Firecracker 100
Monadnock Speedway , Winchester , NH .

Caution Flags: Laps 31, 58, 58, 66
Race Time: 40:51:381
Black Mountain Painting - ½ way: Alexander
New England Race Fuels - Sunoco Hard Charger: Evonsion

Finish Order :(1) Alexander, (2) D. Jarvis (3) Bateman (4) McKennedy (5) Goodenough
(6) Pasteryak (7) Shumway (8) Evonsion (9) Holdridge (10) Dachenhausen (11) Boniface
(12) P. Jarvis (13) Perry (14) Doucette (15) Douglas (16) Drown (17) Christopher (18) Hinckley
(19) Owen (20) Bouchard (21) White (22) Wenzel


Source: John H. Spence Sr./True Value Modified Racing Series
Posted:  July 7, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/