The Chrome Horn News



   Modified racing returns to the State of Maine, Saturday night, August 2, when the True Value Modified Racing Series makes it’s annual stop at the famed Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, Scarborough, ME. This weekend’s race will be the fourth appearance by the New England touring series and all previous winners have indicated they are heading to the Pine Tree State. The Beech Ridge event has delivered very competitive races, surprises, and first time winners.
   David Pinkham, Buxton , Me. , currently in a battle for the 2008 series championship, will be a strong fan favorite as he’ll drive a Maine based racer owned by veteran car owner Tom Greeley, Auburn , ME. The Greeley/Pinkham combo has been in victory lane this year at Waterford , CT. , and just over a week ago at Oxford Plains Speedway, Oxford , ME. Pinkham captured the inaugural Beech Ridge race in 2005.
   A year later, the Beech Ridge race delivered another surprise and a first time winner when second generation driver Dale Evonsion, E.Hartland, CT., took down the victory in 2006. Like the season before, victory lane was emotionally charged as Evonsion bested a strong field to gain the victory.
   The 2007 win went to three-time champion Kirk Alexander. Alexander has a two car stable this year but has indicated he’ll be piloting the famed “Super Beast” # 43 in Saturday’s program. The SPAFCO chassied modified has carried Alexander to a record 30 wins in five seasons.
   Fellow Maine racer, Tony Ricci, Westbrook, has indicated he intends to compete at “The Ridge.” Ricci would like nothing more than to have a strong showing at his home track. Ricci is a two-time winner with the TVMRS in 2006. Ricci owns and prepares his own racer.
   Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon , CT. , is another expected entry. Pasteryak takes a slim six point lead into Beech Ridge but the second generation driver has been strong since the season opener in April and is looking for his first series win. Fellow Connecticut drivers Mike Holdridge, Madison, and Les Hinckley, Windsor Locks, both fourth and fifth in points, are making the trip to Maine .
   Jack Bateman, and Jon McKennedy, both former series winners, are expected entries looking for their first wins of the season. Rookie of the Year contenders, Joe Doucette, Kenny White Jr, and Kevin Iannarelli, are expected. Shelly Perry, the only female driver to compete regularly with the series is another expected entry.
   Qualifying heat races (12 laps) will determine the starting lineup for the 100 lap green flag race. Racing begins at 6:00 PM.


Source: John H Spence Sr / True Value Modified Racing Series PR
Posted:  July 28, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/