The Chrome Horn News



   Current point leader Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT., scored his first True Value Modified Racing Series win Saturday night, when he captured the 100 lap “Racing Against Cancer Wings and Wheels” feature race at the Waterford , CT. , Speedbowl. Pasteryak’s victory was before the largest crowd seen at the historic race track in 20 years.
   Pasteryak, who started fifth in the field, moved into second spot on lap 23 with his sights set on defending series champion, Kirk Alexander. On a lap 52 restart, Pasteryak powered by Alexander to become the pace-setter and local favorite. Alexander would take the top spot back for one lap but turn it back over to Pasteryak on lap 55.
   Pasteryak and Alexander battled all the way to the finish but Pasteryak opened a full straight-away lead over the Swanzey, NH.., veteran, only to have it wiped out when Shelly Perry tagged the first turn wall on lap 96. When the race resumed, Pasteryak rode off to a popular victory in front of the hometown crowd with Alexander settling for the runner-up spot. The win also guarantees Pasteryak a starting position in next month’s “Mod Mania”race at Thompson , CT.
   South Windsor , CT. , driver Jeff Malave, competing in his first TVMRS event, finished an impressive third, with 2006 champion, Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT., and Ted Christopher, Plainville , CT. , rounding out the top five.
   Rob Summers, Vernon , CT. , Mike Holdridge, Madison , CT. , Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford , MA., Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, NH., and Jack Bateman, Canaan , NH., finished sixth through tenth.
   Heat races were won by Alexander, McKennedy, and Jeff Pearl, Salem , CT.

   The TVMRS returns to the Monadnock Speedway, Winchester , NH August 23 at 6 PM.

Race Summary:
Waterford , CT Speedbowl
August 16, 2008
Race # 12

Lap Leaders: Alexander (1-51) Pasteryak (52, 53) Alexander (54) Pasteryak (55-100)
Caution Flags: Lap 47, 51, 52, 56, 57, 96
Racer Time: 1:02:35
Black Mountain Painting Half Way: Alexander
Sunoco Race Fuels Hard Charger: Rob Goodenough
29 Cars Entered Event

Official Finish: 1.Chris Pasteryak, 2, Kirk Alexander, 3. Jeff Malave, 4. Dwight Jarvis, 5. Ted Christopher, 6. Rob Summers, 7. Mike Holdridge, 8. Jon McKennedy, 9. Rob Goodenough, 10. Jack Bateman, 11. Les Hinckley, 12. Vinnie Annarummo Jr., 13. Jimmy Dolan, 14. Ed Dachenhausen, 15. Kenny White Jr., 16. Eddy Spiers, 17. Dale Evonsion, 18. Dave Berube, 19. Joe Doucette, 20. Todd Owen, 21. Butch Perry, 22. Shelly Perry, 23. Shawn Monahan, 24. David Pinkham, 25. Kenny Vogel, 26. Steve Masse, 27. Tony Ricci, 28. Jeff Pearl.


Source: John H. Spence Sr. / True Value Modified Racing Series PR
Posted:  August 17, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/