The Chrome Horn News



   Jon McKennedy started 24th in a field of 26 competitors Saturday night Sept 20, stayed out of trouble, had a strong race car in the late stages, and went on to win the 100 lap race True Value Modified Racing Series event at the All-Star Speedway, Epping , NH. It was the second TVMRS career win for the Chelmsford MA., driver who took the lead on lap 79, ironically his car number a year ago, to register the victory. McKennedy has run strong all season and has come close several times to a win but was not able to put it all together until Saturday night in front of a hometown crowd.
   McKennedy, a long time racer at the New Hampshire speedway utilized his experience and knowledge of the ¼ mile race track to work his way to the front. Once there, he opened a full straightaway lead over the field until a late race caution flag slowed the pace with two laps remaining.
   Pole sitter Ed Dachenhausen, Danbury , CT. , took the lead at the drop of the green flag with All-Star regulars Luke Royea, New Hampton, NH., and Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, MA., giving chase. Dachenhausen led the first 28 laps. On lap 29, defending champion, Kirk Alexander, W. Swanzey, NH., driving the Marco Turcotte # 43 dubbed the “Flyin Creamsicle” because of it’s orange/white color scheme, took over the top spot and fast became the class of the field setting a torrid pace, a best lap time of 12.834, best speed of 93.408, holding the point until lap 74 when he lost it on a race restart, spinning into the infield.
   Point Leader Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon , CT. , in a rebuilt mount due to a hard crash two weeks ago at Thompson , CT. , took over the top spot and led the next four laps until passed by McKennedy. Pasteryak finished a solid second in his quest for the series championship.
   Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT., the 2006 champion, finished in a solid third, Dachenhausen settled for fourth, with Jimmy Kuhn, W. Bridgewater, MA., rounding out the top five.
   Sixth through tenth were, Rob Goodenough, Alexander, Mike Holdridge, Kenny White, Jr, and Mechalides. Fifteen cars finished on the lead lap.
   Heat races were won by Dachenhausen, Sean Bodreau, and Royea. The second 12 lap qualifying race stirred the crowd as White and Bodreau raced side by side lap after lap with Bodreau winning out at the checkered flag by one-one-hundredths’ of a second. The TVMRS 12-lap heat races are popular with the fans.

   The next event for the TVMRS will be, Sunday Sept 28, at Twin State Speedway, Claremont , NH . “The Ricky Miller Memorial 100” will be the first ever race run by the popular racing series, now in its fifth year.

Race Summary:
Sept 20, 2008
All-Star Speedway, Epping , NH .
Time of Race: 50:51:072
Margin of Victory: 0.455
Lead Changes: 4
Caution Flags: 6 Laps: 21, 23, 32,74,74,98
Lap Leaders: Dachenhausen (1-28) Alexander (29-74) Pasteryak (75-78) McKennedy 79-100
Black Mountain Painting: Alexander
26 starters, 15 cars finished on lead lap

Order of Finish: McKennedy, Pasteryak, Jarvis, Dachenhausen, Kuhn, Goodenough, Alexander, Holdridge, White, Mechalides, Wenzel, Annarummo, Evonsion, Iannarelli, Douglas, Dolan, Royea, Boniface, Boudreau, Doucette, Leclair, Bateman, Ordway, Boudreau, Perry, Hinckley


Source: John H Spence Sr. / True Value Modified Racing Series PR
Posted:  September 21, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/