The Chrome Horn News



   Northampton , PA., modified star Matt Hirschman made his first start with the New England based True Value Modified Racing Series a successful one, besting a field of 25 racers, to win the New England Outdoor Furnaces, “Ricky Miller Memorial 100,” Sunday, Oct 26, at Twin State Speedway , Claremont, NH.
   The race was the final event of the 2008 season.
   It was the first appearance by the fifth year series at the famed New Hampshire oval, and the first time an “outside” driver has won a TVMRS sanctioned race. Hirschman entered the event this past Monday. He is the 2008 RoC modified champion and winner of 12 major races this season.
   At the drop of the green flag by honorary flagman, Claremont racing legend, Donnie Ayer, long-time Twin State racer and former track champion, Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney , VT. , shot into the lead from his outside front row starting position and would hold the top spot, with Kirk Alexander, W. Swanzey, NH., in hot pursuit. Alexander wrestled the lead away for one circuit, on a lap 42 re-start, only to have the 2006 champion, Jarvis, take it back and lead the field until lap 61.
   Hirschman moved to the point with Jarvis trying everything he could to get the lead back but the 25 year old hot shoe was able to hold off the Claremont Hall-of Fame member to notch the win.
   At one point, Jarvis made a patented move to pull alongside the leader, as he dove low into turn three, to a cheering crowd, only to have one of eight caution flags slow the race.
   Hirschman said he knew Jarvis was there. “I seen his move, the way my car was set-up, I could run his line and make that move, but my move was totally different, he made it once or twice and he almost made it work, I just had to run my line and if he got me, I thought I could probably get him back. It was like we were going to go back and forth right to the end, I was able to hold him off.”
   The win by Hirschman is another milestone in his already successful season. “It feels good to add this to my season, to win in three of the major modified tours is an accomplishment that speaks for itself,” said the winning driver. “I know Teddy (Christopher), Stefanik, and a few others have run with the series, it’s a good accomplishment.” He added, “What a race, man what a race, some of the hardest short track racing I’ve ever done, I was out of breath when the race was over, It was intense, that was some good stuff,” said a smiling Hirschman.
   Alexander finished third, followed by Jon McKennedy, and Rob Goodenough making up the top five. Sean Bodreau, Pasteryak, Mike Douglas, Todd Owen, and Kenny Barry rounded out the top ten.
   Chris Pasteryak won the 2008 series championship over Alexander and Mike Holdridge.
   Kenny White Jr, claimed the Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year title. Both drivers will be honored at the series championship banquet Saturday night November 15, at Francis Farms, Rehoboth , MA
   Series officials requested fans stand on lap 12 and lap 84 in remembrance of Ricky Miller and Kirby Monteith. Monteith, a charter member and driver of the TVMRS, passed away two weeks ago.
   Qualifying heat races were won by Douglas , D. Jarvis, and Owen.
   28 teams entered the event. 26 cars started. The top 12 finishers were on the lead lap. Eight caution flags were displayed for minor mishaps. It took 56 minutes 22 seconds to complete the race.

Twin State Speedway , Claremont , NH
“Ricky Miller Memorial 100”
Oct 26, 2008

  1. 59 Matt Hirschman
  2. 28 Dwight Jarvis
  3. 43 Kirk Alexander
  4. 73 Jon McKennedy
  5.   6 Rob Goodenough
  6.   3 William Bodreau Jr
  7. 15 Chris Pasteryak
  8. 23 Mike Douglas Jr
  9. 29 Todd Owen
10. 40 Kenny Barry
11. 62 Roger Raymond
12. 35 Dale Evonsion
13. 18 Eddy Spiers
14.   0 Mike Holdridge
15.   2  Peter Daniels
16. 55 Joe Doucette
17. 76 Shelly Perry
18. 77 Kenny White Jr
19.   1 Sean Boudreau
20. 72 Jimmy Kuhn Jr
21. 69 Jimmy Dolan
22. 27 Kevin Iarnnarelli
23. 17 Jack Bateman
24. 06 Les Hinckley III
25. 78 Jeff Malave
26.   9 Peter Jarvis
27. 10 Ed Dachenhausen DNS
28. 08 Jim Boniface DNS

Race Leaders: D. Jarvis (1-41) Alexander: (42) D. Jarvis: (43-60) Hirschman: (61-100)
Cautions: Lap 20, 25,41,42,55,60,65,67
Black Mountain Painting Half Way : D. Jarvis
Did Not Start: Dachenhausen, Boniface
Race Time: 56:22:848


Source: John H. Spence Sr./ True Value Modified Racing Series PR
Posted:  October 27, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/