The Chrome Horn News



   Racing at Twin State Speedway could not have gone smoother despite some rain on Saturday the postponed some features to Sunday.
   The New England Outdoor Furnaces Fall Challenge brought out the best of the best, while benefiting the Victory Junction Gang with Rickyís Race for Kids.
   The True Value Modifieds came out in force for the 100-lap event Sunday, putting on a memorable show that truly honored the memory of Ricky Miller.
   Matt Hirschman came through the victor after putting on a whale of a show. Hirschman started mid-pack, which meant some serious driving was needed to make headway into contention.
   The young gun wasted no time, going straight to the outside line and eating up the competition until coming alongside Jon McKennedy in the 73. The two battled for 9 laps before Hirschman decided it was best to take a spot in the line to save his tires for second half of the race.
   Hirschman made more headway as spins brought out several restarts, allowing him to eat up a couple more cars and put himself into a spot to chase Dwight Jarvis, who had led the race comfortably for 60 laps at that time.
   The two battle ferociously for the lead until a restart finally saw Hirschman take the lead, but the war wasnít over.
   Jarvis set up the pass several times but couldnít find the space to fit his pace. A final caution flag ended his chances at retaking the lead and he settled for second. Kirk Alexander finished third.
   Twin State Speedway honored long-time racer Roger Raymond with a plaque before the race. The 100-lap feature was Raymondís last of a storied 53-year-long racing career that started at the Thrasher Road speedplant.
   Pro Stock action Saturday proved eventful but there was little movement in the top three. Russ Hersey started on the pole with Bryon baker lined up outside and thatís where they finished as well.
   Jeff Zuidema made some moves from his start in seventh to take third away from Brandon Ovitt.
   The Pepsi Modifieds feature went to Chris Riendeau after a lengthy battle with Nate Kehoe who finished second. Dana Smith took third and put the finishing touch on his 2008 championship season.
   Chris Bergeron is two-for-two at Twin State Speedway, winning both races he has competed in. Bergeron fought through the pack and took the lead from Guy Caron in the closing laps of the race. Mark Hayward finished third.
   Todd Davis took home the championship title, beating out Dennis Stange.
   Chris Wilk looked to have the Super Streets feature wrapped up, but Scott Zilinski had other plans, taking the lead with just a few laps left in the race. Edward Brehio III finished third in the race.
   Wilk took home the 2008 Super Streets championship.
   The All-Star Trucks put on a show with Andy Lindeman taking home the checkered flag, far from his first at the speedway. Chris Austill took second and Derek Chriss filled out the podium.
   Ed Laquire Jr. went wire-to-wire in the Strictly Stocks followed by Ben Bushey in second. Jerrad Ledger took third.
   The Sportsman race went to Jeff Murray in a final lap pass of Craig Smith for the lead. Dylan Bodreau took third.
   Bobby Santos made short work of the NEMA midgets race, flying around the track and taking the checkered flag.
   Twin State Speedway would like to thank all the fans and racers for a fantastic end to the season. Estimates on the funds raised for Rickyís Race for Kids puts the number in the $15,000 region, a wonderful success.


Source: Twin State Speedway PR
Posted:  October 27, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/