The Chrome Horn News



   The 18th Annual TSI Harley-Davidson 150 program at Stafford Motor Speedway saw Ted Christopher victorious in the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, while Chris Matthews and Norm Sears both took down their second consecutive wins in the 20-lap SK Light and 15-lap DARE Stock feature events. Due to a rain storm in the middle of the program, the 30-lap Late Model and 20-lap Limited Late Model feature events were postponed to a later date.
   The 40-lap SK Modified® feature took the green flag with Wade Mattesen setting the early pace. Mattesen surrendered the lead to Brad Hietala on lap-6 with Ted Christopher also moving past Mattesen for second. On lap-10 both Hietala and Christopher spun in turn 4 to bring the caution out and put Woody Pitkat out front. Pitkat held the lead of the race from that point until lap-37 when Christopher, who had charged his way back through the field after his spin, made a power move to the inside of Pitkat in turn 3 to take the race lead.
   A late caution set up a green white checkered flag restart, but rain began to fall and the race was red/checkered with 39-laps complete, making Christopher a winner for the first time during the 2008 season. Pitkat was second, with Jeff Malave, Bo Gunning, and Jimmy Blewett rounding out the top-5.
   The 20-lap SK Light Modified feature took the green flag with Aaron Goff leading the opening laps. Goff spun in turn 4 on lap-5 to bring the caution out and move John Walmsley into the lead. Walmsley stayed out front until lap-8 when Chris Matthews moved to the front of the pack. A ration of caution periods brought about the red/checker with 12 of the 20 laps complete as the 20-minute time limit for the race had been surpassed. Walmsley finished second, with Mark Bakaj, Harry Wheeler, and Raymond Grassetti rounding out the top-5.
   The 15-lap DARE Stock feature event took the green with Matt Davis taking the early race lead. Davis was running strong out in front of the field, pulling away from his closest pursuer. A caution with 12 of the 15 laps complete erased Davis’ large lead and set up a sprint to the checkered flag. Norm Sears moved by Davis for the lead on lap-14 and he held on to win his second consecutive race. Don Wood finished second, with Jeff Jolly, Davis, and John Kasper rounding out the top-5.
   For more information contact the Stafford Motor Speedway track office at (860) 684-2783, or visit us on the web at

   SK MODIFIED® (40)
  1) Ted Christopher, Plainville
  2) Woody Pitkat, Stafford Springs
  3) Jeff Malave, Manchester
  4) Bo Gunning, Bethlehem
  5) Jimmy Blewett, Howell, Nj
  6) Curt Brainard, Canton
  7) Eric Berndt, Cromwell
  8) Corey Hutchings, Salem
  9) Wade Mattesen, Tolland
10) Steven Reed, Freehold, Nj
11) Billy Bolton, Ellington
12) Keith Rocco, Wallingford
13) Kurt Lenahan, Roxbury
14) Vincent Anglace, Beacon Falls
15) Doug Coby, Milford
16) Kenny Horton, Guilford
17) Brett Gonyaw, Manchester
18) Frank Ruocco, Cheshire
19) Brad Hietala, Ellington
20) Billy Pauch Jr., Frenchtown, Nj
21) Chris Jones, New Milford
22) Fran Siana, Enfield
23) Zach Sylvester, Lebanon
24) Richie Pallai, Jr., Yorktown Heights, Ny
25) Todd Owen, Somers
26) Glenn Griswold, Vernon
27) Willie Hardie, Jr., Willington

   SK LIGHT (20)
  1) Chris Matthews, Stafford
  2) John Walmsley, Scotland
  3) Mark Bakaj, Lebanon
  4) Harry Wheeler, Stafford Springs
  5) Raymond Grassetti, Monson, Ma
  6) Kyle Spencer, Montgomery, Ma
  7) Adam Skowyra, Bromfield, Ma
  8) David Webb, New Milford
  9) Todd Clark, Bristol
10) Steve Zukowski, Wallingford
11) Alan Provost, Monson, Ma
12) Joe Allegro, Jr., Vernon
13) Mike Lane, Middlefield
14) Fred Nees, Jr., New Milford
15) Jay Goff, South Windsor
16) Heather DesRochers, Granby, Ma
17) George Nocera, Jr., Plainville
18) Tony Santangelo, Middlefield
19) Chris Bakaj, New Britian
20) C.J. Lacativa, Poughkeepsie, Ny
21) Ted Cain, Plymouth
22) Shawn Brule, West Thompson
23) Rick Burwood, Enfield
24) Aaron Goff, Stafford Springs
25) Neil Provost Jr., Union
26) Tommy Membrino, Sr., Prospect

   DARE STOCK (15)
  1) Norm Sears, Andover
  2) Don Wood, Palmer, Ma
  3) Jeff Jolly, Wallingford
  4) Barry Fluckiger, Vernon
  5) John Kasper, Wilbraham, Ma
  6) Albert Saunders, Stafford
  7) Todd Laporta, Waterbury
  8) Bill Dunn, Prospect
  9) Jim Brice, Manchester
10) Scott Roy, Bloomfield
11) Vince Gambacorta, Ellington
12) Jesse Hinze, Farmington
13) Kyle Casagrande, Stafford Springs
14) Matt Chiarizio, Stafford Springs
15) Robert Thompson, Springfield, Ma
16) Victoria Bergenty, Plainville
17) Cliff Saunders, Stafford
18) Megan Bienkowski, Berlin
19) Duane Provost, Indian Orchard, Ma
20) Dan Flannery, Ellington
21) John Lampro, Jr., Enfield
22) Peter Bourque, Stafford Springs


Source:  Scott Running / Stafford Motor Speedway PR
Posted:  May 23, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.