The Chrome Horn News



   The 35th Annual Coors Light SK Modified® 100 played out perfectly for Ted Christopher in the game of numbers. On Friday, June 13th, Christopher drove car number 13 to his 100th career feature victory at Stafford by winning the Coors Light SK Modified® 100. Other feature winners included Michael Bennett and Dillon Moltz from the Late Model division, Alan Provost in the SK Light feature, Sean Foster in the Limited Late Model feature, and Bill Dunn in the DARE Stock feature.
   The 35th Annual Coors Light SK Modified® 100 took the green with Doug Coby leading the first three laps before giving way to Todd Owen on lap-4. While Owen was pacing the field, Ted Christopher was quickly working his way through the field from his 7th place starting position. He took second place from Curt Brainard on lap-19 and closed in on Owen’s bumper by lap-30. Christopher hounded Owen’s back bumper, but couldn’t make a pass stick. The first caution of the race came out with 38-laps complete, which gave Christopher all the opportunity he needed as he took to the outside groove on the restart and passed Owen for the lead.
   The race took on another long green flag run with Christopher, Chris Jones, and Woody Pitkat making up the top-3 cars. The race ran green to lap-89 with the top-3 cars remaining the same. Pitkat got by Jones on the restart and he applied immediate pressure to Christopher in a battle for the race lead. Much like Christopher did earlier in the race to Owen, Pitkat was all over the back bumper of Christopher. Pitkat tried several times to make a run for the lead in the corners, but couldn’t make a pass stick and Christopher had just enough car to keep in front of Pitkat for a one car length victory, the 100th career feature win for Christopher at Stafford Motor Speedway. Pitkat finished second, with Tom Bolles, Keith Rocco, and Frank Ruocco rounding out the top-5.
   In victory lane, it was announced that to commemorate Christopher’s 100 career victories at Stafford, Section A of the main grandstand would be named after Christopher, placing him with other modified greats that adorn each section of Stafford’s main grandstand. Christopher was also presented a commemorative plaque, recognizing his 100 career wins.

  1) Ted Christopher, Plainville
  2) Woody Pitkat, Stafford Springs
  3) Tom Bolles, Ellington
  4) Keith Rocco, Wallingford
  5) Frank Ruocco, Cheshire
  6) Chris Jones, New Milford
  7) Todd Owen, Somers
  8) Jeff Malave, Manchester
  9) Kenny Horton, Guilford
10) Doug Coby, Milford
11) Richie Pallai, Jr., Yorktown Heights, Ny
12) Wade Mattesen, Tolland
13) Curt Brainard, Canton
14) Kerry Malone, Needham, Ma
15) Kirk Zervas, Winthrop, Ma
16) Zach Sylvester, Lebanon
17) Bo Gunning, Bethlehem
18) Jimmy Blewett, Howell, Nj
19) Eric Berndt, Cromwell
20) Billy Anderson, Wolcott
21) Steven Reed, Freehold, Nj
22) Brad Hietala, Ellington
23) Kurt Lenahan, Roxbury
24) Willie Hardie, Jr., Willington
25) Vinny Anglace, Beacon Falls
26) Billy Bolton, Ellington
27) Corey Hutchings, Salem
28) Glenn Griswold, Vernon


Source:  Scott Running / Stafford Speedway PR
Posted:  June 14, 2008

©2008 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.