The Chrome Horn - True Value Modified Racing Series


First Modified All-Star Event Taking Shape For Saturday, September 12th
of Sunoco Race of Champions Weekend at Oswego Speedway

   The excitement is building for the 59th running of the Sunoco Race of Champions Weekend at Oswego Speedway September 11th, 12th and 13th. A new format will include the first running of the T.J. Toyota/Waite Toyota Modified All-Star 30 lap special on Saturday of the weekend.
   The T.J. Toyota/Waite Toyota Modified All-Star 30 lap special will pit sixteen of the northeast’s top Modified chauffeurs in a wheel to wheel battle that could determine the top five starting spot in Sunday’s Sunoco Race of Champions Modified 200. The drivers in the All-Star Event will be comprised of all the RoC Dart Asphalt Modified Tour feature winners in 2009 along with RoC Qualifier winners at different facilities in the northeast.
   Jimmy Blewett won the first Modified All-Star Event qualifier back on Saturday, May 9th at the Wall Stadium Speedway. An impressive list of drivers has already been assembled to this point with a number of Modified All-Star Qualifiers still remaining. Joining Blewett with Modified All-Star spots are: Ted Christopher, Chuck Hossfeld, Earl Paules, Mike Leaty, Matt Hirschman, Chris Pasteryak, Rusty Smith and Defending Sunoco Race of Champions 200 winner Tony Hirschman.
   The 30 lap Modified All-Star event will see the winner earning $2,000 along with the opportunity draw a pill that could determine the Sunday Modified 200 starting grid. Three pills will be available to the top five finishers of the All-Star event. The top five drivers will be guaranteed in the Sunoco Race of Champions Modified 200, should the top five drivers decide as a group to draw one of the three pills they could start either – 1st through 5th, 6th through 10th or 11th -15th on Sunday. Should they opt not to draw a pill they would then be a part of the standard qualifying procedure on Sunday. If the top five drivers draw a pill they are locked in those starting spots that are drawn.
   With the bonus lap money up for grabs on Sunday in the Sunoco Race of Champions 200 it will certainly prove interesting to see if the top finishers in the All-Star event opt to go through qualifying or lock on their position on Saturday night. One thing that is assured is that the best Modified drivers in the business will be going wheel to wheel on Saturday for 30 laps to guarantee five drivers a starting spot in the 59th running of the Sunoco Race of Champions 200.
   The entire Modified All-Star field will receive at least $200 to take the green and a free Hoosier Racing Tire for their participation. The winner will earn $2,000 with second place paying $1,000 in the 30 lapper.
   This event will certainly culminate a great Race of Champions Weekend Saturday schedule. The Late Models will race in their first ever 125 lap feature event presented by T.J. Toyota and Waite Toyota. The NORA Small Super Modifieds will be in competition along with qualifying for the Super Stocks and the SST Modified Non-Qualifiers event.
   After the Saturday racing program fans and drivers are invited to take part in a Saturday night pit party that will include live music and live racing on a big screen television for those in attendance.
   To contact the Oswego Speedway box office please phone 315-342-0646. For additional information please contact the Race of Champions offices at 607-775-5555 or email The official website can be found at

T.J. Toyota/Waite Toyota Modified All-Star Event Qualifiers

 Saturday, May 9th Wall Township Speedway, NJ Jimmy Blewett
*Saturday, May 23rd Oswego Speedway, NY Ted Christopher
 Saturday, May 24th Dunn Tire Raceway Park Chuck Hossfeld
 Saturday, June 6th Mahoning Valley Speedway, PA Earl Paules
*Friday, June 19th Spencer Speedway Mike Leaty
*Friday, July 10th Wyoming County International Matt Hirschman
*Wednesday, July 17th Seekonk Speedway Chris Pasteryak
*Saturday, July 18th Dunn Tire Raceway Park Rusty Smith
*Thursday, July 23rd Thompson Speedway 75
*Sunday, August 2nd Chemung Speedrome 150
*Saturday, August 8th Wall Stadium, NJ Twin 50
*Friday, August 14th Spencer Speedway 100
 Saturday, August 15th Waterford Speedway tba
*Saturday, Sept. 5th Oswego Speedway 75
 Sunday, Sept. 6th Oswego Speedway Super Classic 200
* indicates RoC Modified Tour point race…
Defending RoC 200 Winner: Tony Hirschman


Thursday, September 10th
4:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. Pre-registration.

Friday, September 11th
9:00 a.m. Pit Gates Open
10:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. Paid Open Practice (all classes)
4:30 p.m. Practice for Friday classes
4:30 p.m. Grandstand Gates Open
5:30 p.m. Drivers meeting for teams competing Friday.
6:30 p.m. Qualifying heats in the following order:
- Mini Stocks
- SST Sportsman Modifieds
- Pure/Factory Stocks
- Mini Stock Consolation (as needed)
- SST Sportsman Modified Consolation(s)
- Mini Stock Feature – 20 laps
- SST Sportsman Modified 100
- Pure/Factory Stock – 25 laps

Saturday, September 12th
10:00 a.m. Pit Gates Open.
11:30 a.m. Grandstand Gates Open.
11:30 a.m. Practice for Saturday divisions
Competing classes
Late Model qualifying and feature 150
NORA Small Block Supers qualifying and feature 35
Super Stock Qualifying
SST Modified Non-Qualifiers Event
Modified All-Star Winners Classic (30) (top 5 earn guaranteed spots for 200)
*detailed Saturday schedule to be released soon…

Sunday, September 13th
Complete schedule to be announced…
Modified Qualifying and 59th Sunoco Race of Champions 200.
Super Stock Feature Event.
2:00 p.m. 59th Annual Sunoco Race of Champions Modified 200

Source: JR's Motorsports Media / Sunoco Race Of Champions
Posted: July 30, 2009


©2009 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.