Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010

   The Chrome Horn - Modified Racing Series




The green flag drops on a brand new season Saturday and Sunday March 27 & 28, as the Modified Racing Series, sponsored by Bob Valenti AutoMall.Com, kicks off a 19 race schedule that will take the tour to five New England states and New York.

Waterford Speedbowl, Waterford, CT., entering its 60th season, will play host to next weekends opener with a strong field of modified race cars expected. Over 30 race teams have already indicated they intend to compete in the “Budweiser Blastoff” inaugural at the famed speedway.

New series sponsor, Bob Valenti AutoMall.Com, vice president Rob Valenti, announced recently his intention to assist race teams entering the season’s first event by generously helping all teams, paying that day’s entry fee.

Valenti’s enthusiasm for his dealerships involvement and the new season starting at Waterford, are two key reasons why he decided to step up to help series competitors.

“We want to begin this relationship with a big start so considering the Waterford Speedbowl is our home track, what better way to start the year than with a full field. To help teams start the 2010 season, I will pay the entry fee for every Modified Racing Series, sponsored by Bob Valenti Auto Mall.Com, race car that shows up and tries to qualify for the opening race.”

To date, MRS officials have indicated, 32 race teams have expressed their intent to compete in the 2010 opener. Drivers from throughout New England, New Jersey, Long Island, NY., and Pennsylvania, are making the trip to the Connecticut oval. More are expected by race day.

Defending MRS Champion, Jonathan McKennedy, E. Chelmsford, MA., returns driving his familiar # 73, focusing on another championship. 2008 champion, Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT., is also entered driving his family owned car, renumbered 52 for the new campaign. 2009 ROC Champion, Matt Hirschman, Northampton, PA., Seven-time NASCAR champion Mike Stefanik, Coventry, RI., last years Waterford winners, Doug Coby,Milford, CT., and Rowan Pennink, Huntington Valley, PA., are planning to compete.

MRS racing at “The Speedbowl” has proven to be extremely competitive. Eight different drivers have visited victory lane in eight races. Bobby Grigas (2006), Rob Summers & Kirk Alexander (2007), David Pinkham, Les Hinckley, and Pasteryak (2008), with Coby and Pennink (2009).

Because it’s the first race of the new season, a special practice session will be conducted on Friday, March 26, from 12 PM to 5PM. Practice and qualifying will take place on Saturday, March 27, with the 100 lap green flag feature race for the Modified Racing
Series, sponsored by Bob Valenti AutoMall.Com, on Sunday, March 28. Valenti dealerships are located in Mystic, CT., and Westerly, RI.

For additional information, log on to

Source: John H. Spence Sr. / Modified Racing Series
Posted: March 19, 2010

©2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.