Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010

   The Chrome Horn - Modified Racing Series




Open-wheel modified racing returns to one of the Northeast’s leading racing facilities adding another chapter to it’s long history as the famed Albany-Saratoga Speedway, Malta, NY., returns to asphalt racing for the first time in 35 years and plays host to the Modified Racing Series, sponsored by Bob Valenti Automall.Com, and the Race of Champions Dart Asphalt Modified Tour.

It will be the first MRS race outside of New England in the series seven year history. The two touring divisions will compete in a special 100 lap feature race on Sunday April 18.

Dubbed as an East vs. West showdown, the event will highlight 2009 MRS champion Jon McKennedy, of East Chelmsford, MA., and 2009 ROC champion Matt Hirschman, Northampton, PA. Both competed in the recent MRS season opener at Waterford, CT., with Hirschman finishing second in that race, one position ahead of McKennedy.

A total of 24 MRS race teams as of April 9 have pre-registered for the event featuring a blend of series veterans and newcomers. To date, 2006 champion Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney. VT, and 2008 champion, Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT., will join defending champ, McKennedy, as entrants. More drivers are expected to enter.

9-time NASCAR champion, Mike Stefanik, Coventry, (RI), will make the trek to Malta as will Huntington Valley, (PA), front-runner Rowan Pennink. and former MRS rookie of the year Andy Seuss, Hampstead, (NH) a recent winner at Caraway Speedway, Asheboro, (NC).

Series veterans, Jack Bateman, Canaan, (NH)., Ed Dachenhausen, Danbury, (CT), Les Hinckley, Windsor Locks, (CT)., Jimmy Dolan, Bethel, (CT)., Mike Holdridge, Madison, (CT) , Kenny Barry, Preston, (CT) 2009 Rookie of the Year, Jacob Dore, (Sanford, (ME), Jim Boniface, Winchester, (NH), Joe Doucette, Framingham, (MA), Eddy Spiers, Beacon Falls, (CT), and Jeff Malave, Manchester, (CT) have all pre-registered.

2010 Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year candidates,Max Zachem, Preston, Joey Jarvis, Ascutney, Norman Wrenn, Nashua, (NH), Todd Annarummo, Swansea,(MA)., Frank Perry, Holbrook, (MA), Byron Chew, Inlet,, (NY), Geoffrey Gernhard, Salem, (CT), and Eric Goodale, Wading River, (NY), have also entered.

From 1965 to 1975, before it was transformed into a dirt track facility, Albany Saratoga Speedway attracted the era’s top names in modified racing. Legendary drivers like Bugs Stevens, Smokey Boutwell, Leo Cleary, Ernie Gahan, Rene Charland, Pete Hamilton, Don MacTavish, Bill Slater, and the great Richie Evans, all competed at the 4/10 mile speedway. Evans was the last asphalt modified champion there.

Hall of Famer Brian Ross, one of the most influential drivers and fabricators of his generation, will be the grand marshal for Sunday’s race.

Ross began his racing career in the charger division at Albany-Saratoga Speedway in the late 1960s and progressed to have a distinguished career on the NASCAR asphalt modified series.

Ross described his early racing days at Albany-Saratoga Speedway as an education.

“When I started racing at Albany-Saratoga, it was like going to school. If you wanted to learn about racing, there was no better place to be. Anybody who was anybody showed up to race at Albany-Saratoga. It always got the best drivers from New England, western New York, Canada, Long Island. Just to make the show was a feat. It was a tremendous place to learn about racing.”

An open practice for MRS and ROC competitors will take place on Saturday April 17. Pit gates will open both Saturday and Sunday at 8 AM.

Courtyard by Marriott at Saratoga Springs 11 Excelsior Avenue Saratoga Springs, New York will serve as Modified Racing Series headquarters for the weekend.

Source: John H. Spence Sr. / Modified Racing Series
Posted: April 12, 2010

©2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.