.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Modified Racing Series




With the second half of the season set to begin this weekend, New England based Modified Racing Series, sponsored by Bob Valenti AutoMall.Com, heads up Rte 95 to Oxford Plains, ME., for their fourth appearance as part of the 37th annual TD Bank Oxford 250 weekend. The open-wheel 600 horse powered modifieds will compete in the “Maine-ly Action Sports 100” lap green flag race on Saturday night, July 17.

The three previous races held at Oxford Plains were hotly contested and this year’s event promises to be the same based on the drivers planning on making the trip.

Maine drivers expected to enter the race are both popular and successful competitors with the seven year series. 2009 Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year, Jacob Dore, Sanford, a former winner at Twin State Speedway, Claremont, NH., and 2008 Oxford winner, David Pinkham, Buxton, are ready to defend their home turf. Pinkham will drive for longtime race car owner/builder Tom Greeley, of Auburn.

Last years winner of the Oxford race and 2009 series champion, Jon McKennedy, of E. Chelmsford, MA., will try to win his second consecutive race at Oxford and his second series win in a row. He was last week’s winner at Lee USA Speedway, Lee, NH., and is also coming off a strong run at the recent event at Monadnock Speedway, Winchester, NH, July 3.

2006 champion Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT., is also expected as is Les Hinckley, Windsor Locks, CT. Hinckley already has wins this year at Plattsburgh, NY., and Thompson, CT., as is ranked second on the series all-time win list.

2009 RoC champion, Matt Hirschman, Northampton, PA., has been designated to pilot the Roscoe Racing # 25 normally driven by fellow Pennsylvania racer Rowan Pennink who is taking the night off from MRS competition. Hirschman, in addition to his success with the Race of Champions series, and Whelen Modified Tour, is also a former winner with the MRS driving the Gary Casella owned car.

Longtime veteran drivers Charlie and Carl Pasteryak of Jewett City, CT., will also make the trip. 2008 series champ Chris Pasteryak will be sidelined with a wrist injury suffered last week at Lee, NH.

Race time is 6:30 PM. More information is available at www.oxfordplains.com.

Source: John H. Spence Sr. / Modified Racing Series
Posted: July 13, 2010

©2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.