.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Modified Racing Series




Andy Seuss, Hampstead, NH., took the lead on lap 85 and went on to win the Modified Racing Series, sponsored by Bob Valenti AutoMall.Com, feature race, Saturday night, July 17, at the Oxford Plains Speedway, Oxford, Maine. An emotional Seuss dedicated his win to his friend, crewman, and car builder Jay Hull, who passed away last week.

The “Mainely Action Sports Night 100” was the first win of the year for Seuss, his fifth career win with the series, he becomes the fourth different driver to win the Oxford race and the eighth different winner in nine series races in 2010.

Seuss shared the top spot with four other drivers. Pole-sitter Jack Bateman, Canaan, NH., led the first six laps until Jacob Dore, Sanford, ME., took over the lead to the delight of the home state crowd leading through lap 13. Then fellow Maine driver David Pinkham, Buxton, showed the way from lap 14 through 42. Bateman again took command and showed he was a force to be reckoned with leading the event from lap 43 to lap 73. The long time racer had a sizeable lead when the first caution flag was displayed on lap 73.

On the restart, Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, MA., was able to power by and into the lead until passed by Seuss 11 laps later. Mechalides, driving the Lowell, MA., based car owned and prepared by Kevin Stuart, finished in a solid second with Todd Annarummo, Swansea, MA., finishing a strong third after an impressive run by the second generation driver. Matt Hirschman, Northampton, PA., was credited with fourth after a late race charge, with Bateman settling for a well deserved fifth.

Sixth through tenth were, Steve Masse, Bellingham, MA., who started 23rd, Les Hinckley, Windsor, Locks, CT., Geoff Gernhard, Salem, CT., a strong showing from the first year series competitor, Jon McKennedy, E.Chelmsford, MA., and Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year contender, Joey Jarvis, Ascutney, VT.

The race was slowed by three caution periods on laps 73, a lap 73 re-start, and lap 84.

25 teams entered the race. 23 of the 24 cars that started the event finished with 18 cars on the lead lap at the end.. Veteran driver Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, NH., suffered engine problems in practice and did not compete.

The next race for the Modified Racing Series is Saturday night, July 24, at Canaan Fair Speedway, Canaan, NH.at 5 PM.

Date: July 17, 2010
Event: Mainely Action Sports 100 (#9 of 19)
Venue: Oxford Plains Speedway, Oxford Maine
Distance: 100 Laps
Margin of Victory: 0.945
Best Lap Time: 15.293 Jack Bateman
Lap Leaders: Bateman (1-6) Dore (7-13) Pinkham (14-42) Bateman (43-73)
Mechalides (74-84) Seuss (85-100)
Cautions: (73,73,84)

Unofficial Order of Finish:

  1. Andy Seuss Hampstead, N.H
  2. Louie Mechalides Tygnsboro, MA
  3. Todd Annarummo Swansea, MA
  4. Matt Hirschman Northampton, PA
  5. Jack Bateman Canaan, N.H.
  6. Steve Masse Bellingham, MA
  7. Les Hinckley Windsor Locks, CT
  8. Geoff Gernhard Salem, CT
  9. Jon McKennedy E.Chelmsford, MA
10. Joey Jarvis Ascutney, VT
11. Max Zachem Preston, CT
12. Ken Barry Preston, CT
13. Charlie Pasteryak Lisbon, CT
14. David Pinkham Buxton, ME
15. Eddy Spiers Beacon Falls, CT
16. Carl Pasteryak Lisbon, CT
17. Jacob Dore Sanford, ME
18. Dwight Jarvis Ascutney, VT
19. Mike Keeler Danbury, CT
20. Norman Wrenn Nashua, NH
21. John Cleary Madison, CT
22. Jim Dolan Bethel, CT
23. Shelly Perry Ashaway, R.I.
24. Joe Doucette Framingham, MA.


Source: John H. Spence Sr. / Modified Racing Series
Posted: July 19, 2010

©2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.