.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Modified Racing Series




When the Modified Racing Series, sponsored by Bob Valenti AutoMall.com rolled out the carpet for the 2010 season, Jon McKennedy, of East Chelmsford, MA, was the series defending champion. Six months later, the hard-charging McKennedy is ready for a three-race playoff to determine the 2010 championship.

The popular McKennedy will take a 17-point lead into Seekonk Speedway, Saturday and Sunday, October 9, and 10, to compete in the 100- lap D.Anthony Venditti Fall Classic, a long time holiday weekend tradition at the famed oval. Twin State Speedway, Claremont, NH, and Lee USA Speedway, Lee, NH, will provide the stage, October 17, and 24.

McKennedy is trying to become only the second driver in series history to win consecutive titles. Kirk Alexander, a three-time champion, won back-to-back Championships in 2004-2005.

Close to 30 modified race teams have pre-registered for this weekend’s race with three former Fall Classic race winners entered in the two-day program.

Windsor Locks, CT, veteran Les Hinckley, Dave Berghman, Seekonk, Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT, is hoping to score their second victory in the Venditti Classic.

Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT, currently second in the point standings will try to  keep his title hopes alive with Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, PA, 33 points back in the standings, also entered.

Steve Masse, Bellingham, MA, Ken Barry, Preston, CT, 2008 Rookie of the Year, Jacob Dore, Sanford, ME, Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, NH, Jimmy Kuhn, West Bridgewater, MA, Joe Doucette, Framingham, MA, Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, MA, and Jeff Malave, Manchester, CT, have all filed entries.

Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year Candidates, Todd Annarummo, of Swansea, MA, Joey Jarvis, Ascutney, Max Zachem, Preston, Geoff Gerhard, Salem, CT, and Norm Wrenn, Nashua, N.H. are entered. Annarummo has already claimed victory twice this season at his home track.

Series newcomers John Hanafin, Quincy, MA, Wayne Arute, Plainville, CT, and Rob Williams, Winchendon, MA, will attempt to qualify.

Qualifying races will be contested on Saturday October 9 at 1:30 PM with the 100-lap MRS race scheduled, Sunday, Oct 10. Feature races for all divisions Sunday begin at 1:00 PM.

Source: John Spence Sr. / Modified Racing Series
Posted: October 5, 2010

©2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.