.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Modified Racing Series




Jon McKennedy, of East Chelmsford, MA, moved closer to a potential championship Sunday as he won the 100 lap Modified Racing Series, DAV Fall Classic, at the Seekonk Speedway, Seekonk, MA. The race was McKennedy’s third win and his 10th career victory with the New England based touring division, sponsored by BobValentiAutoMall.Com. McKennedy started on the pole and led the entire event. He also became the seventh different winner of the annual race at Seekonk.

McKennedy held off the constant challenges of Richard Savary, Canton, MA, for the first 70 laps. Todd Annarummo, of Swansea, MA, moved to second on a restart following a red flag situation due to a severe glare problem caused by bright sunshine that created a safety hazard for competitors.

When the race resumed, Annarummo pressured McKennedy to the finish but was unable to get by the race leader. “It was a tough race holding of Todd. We were loose the whole race, I had to adapt a little bit.100 laps felt like 200 laps. It was tiring. I had my hands full. Todd has a lot of laps here; he’s the last guy I wanted back there. Luckily we were able to hold him off,” said the defending champion.

Steven Masse, Bellingham MA, finished third, Ken Barry, Preston, CT, fourth, and Dave Berghman, Seekonk, MA, fifth. Six through tenth were Les Hinckley, Windsor Locks, CT, Ryan Preece, Berlin, CT, Max Zachem, Preston, CT, Jack Bateman, Canaan, NH, and Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, MA. tenth.

The race was slowed by caution periods on lap 16,70,76, 78. It took 50:33 seconds to complete the 100 lap event.

McKennedy opened a 41 point lead over Dwight Jarvis who finished 12th. The race winner also has a 21-point lead over Gary Casella in the car owner point standings.

The next stop for the Modified Racing Series is Oct 16 & 17 at the Twin State Speedway, Claremont, NH.
  Date: September 10, 2010
Event: D. Anthony Venditti Fall Classic 100 (#18 of 20)
Venue: Seekonk Speedway-- Seekonk, MA
Distance: 100 Laps
Time of Race: 50:33
Margin of Victory: 0.206
Best Lap Time: 12.143, 98.724 MPH- Richard Savary
Lap Leaders: Jon McKennedy (1-100)
Cautions: 4 (Laps 16, 70, 76, 78)

Unofficial Order of Finish:
   Finish, Start, Driver, Hometown, Laps
  1,   1, Jon McKennedy, E. Chelmsford, MA, 100, Running
  2,   6, Todd Annarummo, Swansea, MA, 100, Running
  3, 13, Steve Masse, Bellingham, MA, 100, Running
  4, 10, Ken Barry, Preston, CT, 100, Running
  5, 16, Dave Berghman, Seekonk, MA, 100, Running
  6, 18, Les Hinckley III, Windsor Locks, CT, 100, Running
  7, 22, Ryan Preece, Berlin, CT, 100, Running
  8,   9, Max Zachem, Preston, CT, 100, Running
  9, 24, Jack Bateman, Canaan, NH, 100, Running
10,   3, Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, MA, 100, Running
11,   7, Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT, 100, Running
12,   4, Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT, 100, Running
13, 14, Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, MA, 100, Running
14,   2, Richard Savary, Canton, MA, 100, Running
15, 23, Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, PA, 100, Running
16, 11, Mike Douglas Jr., Auburn, NH, 100, Running
17, 19, Mike Holdrigdge, Madison, CT, 100, Running
18, 17, Rob Williams, Winchendon, MA, 100, Running
19, 15, Ken Vogel Jr., Ronkonkoma, NY, 99, Running
20, 20, Jimmy Kuhn Jr., Bridgewater, MA, 86, Overheating
21, 12, Jim Dolan, Bethel, CT, 76, Accident
22,   5, Shelly Perry, Westerly, RI, 75, Accident
23,   8, Joey Jarvis, Ascutney, VT, 70, Accident
24, 21, Jacob Dore, Sanford, ME, 36, Mechanical

DNQ: Bobby Drown, Jeff Malave, Norm Wrenn, Andy Seuss, Wayne Arute, Jeff Amaral, Don Fowler, John Hanafin, Joe Doucette, Dick Houlihan, Eddy Spiers

Source: Tyler Apanell / Modified Racing Series
Posted: October 10, 2010

©2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.