.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Modified Racing Series




It was a strange finish to the season. Four hours after Flagman John Spence Jr. dropped the green flag to start the race, Steven Masse of Bellingham, MA, passed under the checkered flag to capture the season ending “Oktoberfest 100” feature race, sanctioned by the Modified Racing Series, sponsored by Bob Valenti Automall.Com, at Lee USA Speedway, Lee, N.H., Sunday afternoon, October 24.

Jon McKennedy, of E. Chelmsford, MA, capped off a great season as he claimed the driving championship and the car owner’s title for the 2010 campaign. McKennedy joins three-time champion, Kirk Alexander, as the only other driver to win back-to-back championships. McKennedy won four races enroute to the championships.

Max Zachem, of Preston, CT., jumped into the lead at the drop of the green flag and led the opening six laps, until Masse motored by to take the top spot, a position he would hold from lap 7 through 100.

The race was slowed on lap 68 when Jimmy Kuhn, W. Bridgewater, MA, spun to bring out the first caution flag. At that point a persistent rain developed forcing the event to be stopped. The red flag period lasted for close to two hours while speedway officials orchestrated the task of drying out the 3/8-mile facility in very damp and cold conditions.

When the modified race was re-started, now 3 hours and 45 minutes later, Masse promptly picked up where he left off setting a fast pace with five-time MRS winner and 2007 Oktoberfest champion Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H., in hot pursuit. Masse maintained the lead over Seuss until lap 84 when a hard charging Kenny Barry, Preston, CT., last years Oktoberfest winner, slipped by to take over the chase of Masse.

Barry brought the crowd alive as he hunted down Masse pulling up behind the leader when the white flag was displayed. Masse was able to hold off Barry at the finish picking up his third win of the season and his fourth career victory with the Modified Racing Series.

Barry finished just 0.194 seconds behind the winner, with Zachem settling for third, Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, MA, following a late race charge, finished fourth, with Seuss fifth. Sixth through tenth was, Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT., Alexander, Swanzey, NH, Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, McKennedy, and Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT, tenth.

Masse won the $200 bonus presented by Laticrete for leading the race at lap 50.

30 race teams entered the season finale with 24 cars starting the event. 21 drivers finished the race with 15 on the lead lap.
  Date: October 24, 2010
Event: Oktoberfest 100 (#19 of 20)
Venue: Lee USA Speedway, Lee, NH
Distance: 100 Laps
Time of Race: 4:12:08  Note, 3:45 rain delay
Margin of Victory: 0.194
Best Lap Time: 14.996, 90.204 Todd Annarummo
Lap Leaders: Max Zachem (1-6), Steve Masse (7-100)
Cautions: 2 (68)

Unofficial Order of Finish:
  Finish, Start, Driver, Hometown, Laps, Status
  1,   3, Steve Masse, Bellingham, MA, 100, Running
  2, 13, Ken Barry, Preston, CT, 100, Running
  3,   2, Max Zachem, Preston, CT, 100, Running
  4,   9, Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, MA, 100, Running
  5,   5, Andy Seuss, Hampstead, NH, 100, Running
  6, 16, Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT, 100, Running
  7,   1, Kirk Alexander, Swanzey, NH, 100, Running
  8, 15, Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, NH, 100, Running
  9, 18, Jon McKennedy, E. Chelmsford, MA, 100, Running
10,   6, Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT, 100, Running
11,   8, Mike Holdridge, Madison, CT, 100, Running
12, 11, Victor Johnson, Swanzey, NH, 100, Running
13, 14, Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, PA, 100, Running
14, 23, Les Hinckley III, Windsor Locks, CT, 100, Running
15, 10, Jimmy Kuhn Jr., Bridgewater, MA, 100, Running
16,   4, Kevin Iannarelli, Maynard, MA, 99, Running
17,   7, Norm Wrenn, Nashua, NH, 99, Running
18, 12, Mark McClay, Unity, NH, 99, Running
19, 20, Carl Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT, 99, Running
20, 21, Joe Doucette, Framingham, MA, 98, Running
21, 24, Todd Annarummo, Swansea, MA, 68, Front End
22, 19, Jacob Dore, Sanford, ME, 68, Rear End
23, 17, Mike Murphy, Groveland, MA, 55, Handling
24, 22, Jack Bateman, Canaan, NH, 5, Engine

DNQ: Eric Hudson, Joey Jarvis, Jim Dolan, Mike Douglas, John Cleary, and Eddy Spiers

Source: John H. Spence Sr. / Modified Racing Series
Posted: October 24, 2010

©2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.