.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour




It's been well known that NASCAR stock car racing has perhaps the most loyal fans in sports and Jim Schaefer of Riverhead indeed might the most loyal when it comes to NASCAR Modified racing on Long Island and the east coast. In a late breaking announcement Friday Barbara & Jim Cromarty revealed that Jim Schaefer has posted an extra $1,000 to the driver who wins the NASCAR Hall of Fame 100 Saturday May 15th at Riverhead Raceway, with the first NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour regular across the line earning an extra $500.

Schaefer who is well known on area message boards as "limodmaniac" is a school teacher in Riverhead who is very passionate about NASCAR Modified racing and aside from Riverhead can be found at almost any pavement Modified race up and down the eastern seaboard. With Schaefer posting a $1,000 bonus the winners share in the NASCAR Hall of Fame 100 now sits at $2,525. If a regular from the WMT should win the race it would then be a $3,025 payday for only 25-miles of racing. This is not the first time Jim Schaefer has been involved with adding extra money to an event at Riverhead Raceway, as in 2009 he added purse money to the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race and is working to do the same in a big way for the 2010 set for July 31st at the quarter mile oval. That race will be first of the Versus TV broadcast package in 2010 for the WMT.

While Jim Schaefer posts the $1,000 bonus to the winner, another familiar name on area message boards "Hossfan" adds the $500 bonus for the first WMT regular across the line in the century grind. "Hossfan" is a fan of Ransomville, N.Y. driver Chuck Hossfeld who actually resides on Long Island and like Schaefer chases NASCAR Modified up and down the east coast.

With time trial qualifying on tap for the NASCAR Hall of Fame 100 and an off weekend for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour it is hoped that many regulars from the tour will take part in this very special race honoring the brand new NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, NC. Long Island drivers who do their racing on the WMT might especially sit-up and take notice of the bonus money as Glenn Tyler, Joe Hartmann, Ken Heagy, Johnny Bush, Gary McDonald and Justin Bonsignore are all eligible for the extra $500. Two drivers from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour who have expressed an interest in running the NASCAR HOF 100 before the bonus plan was announced Richie Pallai Jr. of Yorktown Heights, NY and Chris Pasteryak of Lisbon, Ct. are hoping to gain some laps at Riverhead for the July 31st Flash Tour race. With the extra money on the line it is hoped more drivers from the WMT might plan on making a trip to Long Island Saturday evening. All teams must race on the Riverhead Raceway Hoosier track tire available through TS Haulers and they can be reached at 631-369-1265.

The tested tough drivers of Riverhead Raceway's NASCAR Whelen All-American Series are also setting their sights on the added $1,000 to win as defending champion John Fortin, Chuck Steuer, Dave Brigati, Bill Park, Timmy Solomito, Wayne Anderson Eddie Brunnhoelzl III, Chris Young, Mike Andrews Jr., Tom Rogers Jr., Ken Darch, Jerry Solomito Jr., John Beatty and Amber Fortin are all expected to compete.

Time trials will determine the 24-car field for the NASCAR Hall of Fame 100 which are set to take place at 4:00 pm and joining the NASCAR Modified are the Late Models, Blunderbusts and an 8-Cylinder Enduro. The Cromarty Cup 20 for the Figure Eight class is also scheduled and the running of that event depends on the condition of the infield from a recent high water table. In the event the Figure Eights can't run due to track conditions, then the Legend Race Cars will fill the spot on the race card. An announcement will be made Monday May 10th.

Pit gates for the May 15th show will swing open at 1:00 pm, while the spectator gates open at 3:00 pm and feature event racing starts at 5:00 pm. For further information please visit www.riverheadraceway.com or call 631-842-RACE..

  Source: Lori Sullivan / Riverhead Raceway
Posted: May 7, 2010

2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.