.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour




Ryan Preece of Berlin, Ct., one of the rising young drivers of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, will look to back-up his 2009 Riverhead 200 victory when the tour visits Barbara & Jim Cromarty's historic quarter mile oval Saturday July 31st. The 2010 edition of the Riverhead 200 will be the first in a broadcast package for the Versus Network with the race being taped for broadcast later in the week.

Preece steering the famed Boehler family #3 did a masterful job in earning the Riverhead 200 victory last year and in 2010 finds himself solidly in the top five in the standings as the WMT starts its busy season in July and August. Bobby Santos III of Franklin, Ma currently leads the WMT rankings in another historic ride on the circuit, the Garbarino family owned #4 that Long Islander Donny Lia of Jericho drove to the 2009 title. Three former champions are sitting in the top five with Santos and Preece, Todd Szegedy of Ridgefield, Ct., Ted Christopher of Plainville, Ct. and Mike Stefanik of Coventry, RI, all a threat for the Riverhead 200 victory.

Leading the Long Island charge into the race will be the highest ranking Rookie on the WMT, Justin Bonsignore of Holtsville who is locked in a battle for the 2010 Rookie of the Year with Richie Pallai Jr. of Yorktown Heights, NY. Bonsignore had logged many laps at Riverhead in his NASCAR Modified before branching out onto the WMT for 2010 and currently sits in the top ten in points. Glenn Tyler of Hampton Bays, Kevin & Eric Goodale of Riverhead, Ken Heagy of Calverton, Johnny Bush of Huntington Station, Gary McDonald of Ronkonkoma and Joe Hartmann of Calverton all reside on Long Island and run with the Whelen Modified Tour regularly and will be right at home July 31st.

Awaiting all the regulars of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour are the tested tough competitors of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series at Riverhead Raceway with local drivers Chuck Steuer of Bohemia, John Fortin of Holtsville, Tom Rogers Jr. of Patchogue, Bill Park of Manorville and Howie Brode of East Islip among those expected to attempt qualifying for the race. 1994 NASCAR WMT champion Wayne Anderson announced recently that his car would be driven by Jimmy Blewett of Howell, NJ and re-numbered #14 for owner points purposes.

Qualifying for the first 23 positions will find positions 1 thru 16 filled from time trials, while 17th thru 23rd will come from a 25-lap qualifying race. If for any unforeseen circumstance a qualifying race is not needed then positions 17 thru 23 would revert back to time trials. Positions 24 thru 28 are reserved for provisional starting positions as per the NASCAR entry blank for the Riverhead 200.

The time trial portion of qualifying will start at 4:30 pm, while the 25-lap qualifying race is set for 6:00 pm. The 175-lap feature portion of the Riverhead 200 will start at 8:30 pm as per the NASCAR entry blank. Joining the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour are the Charger and Blunderbust divisions of Riverhead Raceway. Both will run a 30-lap, double point feature with time trial qualifying.

For further information please visit www.riverheadraceway.com or phone 631-842-RACE.

  Source: Bob Finan/ Riverhead Raceway
Posted: July 19, 2010

2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.