Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour



Claims 2nd Coors Light Award of Whelen Southern Mod Campaign

After suffering through a couple of bad finishes in his last two starts Zach Brewer needed something good to happen. He got some good medicine Friday night at Bowman Gray Stadium.

Brewer piloted his No. 11 Phoenix Pre-owned/Triad Auto Sales Chevrolet around the historic quarter-mile facility with a lap of 13.329 seconds (67.522 mph) to win his second Coors Light Pole Award of the season for Saturday night’s Strutmaster.com 199 presented by 104.1 WTQR.

Brewer, who also won the pole earlier this year at South Boston, was understandably happy after his run.

“We had been good all day so we expected to have a good lap, but winning the pole is even better,” Brewer said. “We redrew seventh so we have a little bit of work ahead of us, but we started here earlier this year in 15th for a 200-lap race and finished third so we know we can move up if things go right.”

Burt Myers qualified second with a lap of 13.363 (67.350) with John Smith third at 13.452 (66.905). Last year’s winner Luke Fleming qualified fourth, followed by L.W. Miller.

The top 10 qualifiers redrew for starting position, Jason Myers getting the top spot and Brad Robbins second. Fleming and Gene Pack will make up the second row.
  Starting Lineup-Redraw
Whelen Southern Modified Tour - Strutmaster.com 199 Lineup
Race Saturday; Qualifying Saturday at Bowman Gray Stadium,
Winston-Salem, NC

Lap Length: 0.25 miles

  1.   (4) Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 65.910
  2. (48) Brad Robbins, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 65.350
  3. (29) Luke Fleming, Mt. Airy, N.C., Chevrolet, 65.968
  4. (31) Gene Pack, North Myrtle Beach, S.C., Chevrolet, 65.274
  5. (47) Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H., Dodge, 65.622
  6. (36) L.W. Miller, Dushore, Pa., Pontiac, 65.949
  7. (11) Zach Brewer, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 67.522
  8.   (1) Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 67.350
  9. (02) Tim Brown, Cana, Va.,Chevrolet, 65.612
10. (25) John Smith, Mount Airy, N.C., Chevrolet, 66.905
11.   (2) Josh Nichols, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 64.944
12. (79) James Civali, Meriden, Conn., Pontiac, 64.940
13.   (0) *Greg Butcher, Mocksville, N.C., Chevrolet, 64.832
14. (40) Frank Fleming, Mt. Airy, N.C., Ford, 64.660
15. (44) Brandon Hire, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 64.576
16. (97) Bryan Dauzat, Alexandria, La., Chevrolet, 63.087
17. (12) *Mike Norman, Lewisville, N.C., Ford, 62.535
18.   (5) Randy Butner, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 65.674
* Denotes Sunoco Rookie of the Year Contender

  Source: Timothy Southers / NASCAR
Posted: August 6, 2010

©2010 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.