For Immediate Release

Statistical Advance: Analyzing The Langley 150 At Langley Speedway

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Aug. 30, 2010) – The sixth season of the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour continues this weekend when the tour visits Langley Speedway in Hampton, Va., for the

first time in the history of the tour for the running of the Langley Speedway 150.

Up To Speed

• This will be second time this season the NWSMT has visited the Commonwealth of Virginia. The tour competed at South Boston (Va.) Speedway on April 3.

• The NWSMT has crowned four different champions: Junior Miller (2005, 2006), L.W. Miller (2007), Brian Loftin (2008), and George Brunnhoelzl III (2009).

At Langley Speedway:

• Since the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour formed in 2005, there have been 69 races in the history of the series.

• The track hosted the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series until 1970 and also hosted NASCAR Nationwide Series events until 1988. NASCAR legends such as Richard Petty, Bobby Allison, David Pearson and the late Bobby Isaac all won races at the track.

• Current NSCS driver and Virginia native Denny Hamlin won the Mini Stock Division title there in 1997.

• There have been three first-time winners on the NWSMT this season. Corey LaJoie won at the seasonopening race at Atlanta Motor Speedway on March 5; James Civali at South Boston Speedway on April 3; and John Smith at Caraway Speedway on July 2.

• The track participates in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series, which determines a national champion for the NASCAR-sanctioned local tracks. The track currently hosts 11 divisions and alternates them during their Saturday night program: Late Models, Grand Stock, Modifieds, Legends cars, Super Street, UCAR, Pro Six, Super Trucks, HRKC Pro Winged Champ Karts, and Enduros.

Langley Speedway Data

Race: #8 of 10 (8-28-10) Track Layout: .396-mile oval Banking: semi-banked paved oval Race Length: 150 laps/59.40 miles

Qualifying/Race Data

Inaugural event at the speedway for the NWSMT.

NWSMT Points Leaders

1. L.W. Miller	1,139
2. Andy Seuss	1,132
3. James Civali	1,120
4. John Smith	1,096
5. Burt Myers	1,069
6. Jason Myers	1,009
7. Zach Brewer	977
8. Frank Fleming	972
9. Brandon Hire	930
10. Gene Pack	882

NWSMT All-Time Win Leaders

1. Brian Loftin11	
L.W. Miller11	
3. Junior Miller10	
4. Andy Seuss8	
5. George Brunnhoelzl III6	
6. Burt Myers6	
7. Tim Brown5	
8. Ted Christopher4	
9. James Civali2	
10. John Smith, Jason Myers and three	
others tied1	

<u>2-2-2-2</u> ANALYZING THE LANGLEY 150

Selected Driver Highlights

Zach Brewer (No. 11 Chevrolet)

• North Carolina driver is no stranger to competing in the NASCAR Touring program. Competed at Langley Speedway in the late 1990s, driving former NASCR Goody's Series cars.

• Made six starts in 2009 with two top-10 finishes.

• Won his first career Coors Light Pole award at South Boston on April 4, 2010. Picked up his second pole at Bowman Gray Stadium on Aug. 7, 2010.

Tim Brown (No. 02 Chevrolet)

- Brown has finished second in the season-ending points standings a record three times from 2006-2008.
- Has 58 career starts on the NWSMT and is tied for the lead in career top-fives with 34 and has 45 top-10 finishes.

• Has five wins on the NWSMT with his most recent coming on Sept. 27, 2008 at Caraway Speedway.

James Civali (No. 79 Pontiac)

• One of just two drivers to have multiple wins on the tour this season.

• Was the 2006 Sunoco Rookie of the Year in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.

• Has 10 career starts on the NWSMT, with his first win coming at South Boston on April 3, 2010. His second win was at Bristol Motor Speedway on Aug. 18, 2010.

Frank Fleming (No. 40 Ford)

• Tied for first for most career starts in the series, with 68. Has only missed one race on the tour since 2005.

• Has finished second seven times, with his most recent runner-up finish coming at Caraway Speedway on July 3, 2009.

- Finished in the top 10 in 11 of 14 starts in 2009.
- Has over 50 wins at his home track of Bowman Gray Stadium.
- Brother, Chris Fleming, serves as his crew chief.

Brandon Hire (No. 44 Chevrolet)

- Returning to the NWSMT full time this season after missing last year due to a broken leg.
- Currently sits ninth in the points standings.
- Has 24 career starts on the tour with a career-best fifth place at Caraway Speedway in 2007.

L.W. Miller (No. 36 Pontiac)

- Enters this weekend with a seven-point lead over Andy Seuss (1,139-1,132).
- 2007 NWSMT Champion. Won by 25 points over Tim Brown (1,930-1,905).
- Is tied for first place with Brian Loftin for most career wins with 11 in 51 starts.
- Has 74 NWMT career starts.
- Won at Bowman Gray Stadium on Aug. 7, 2010 for first victory since April 11, 2008.

<u>3-3-3-3</u> ANALYZING THE LANGLEY 150

Burt Myers (No. 1 Ford)

• Most decorated driver in the history of the NWSMT to have not won a championship. Holds NWSMT records for most Coors Light Pole Awards (22), most top-10s (51), top-fives (34), and most consecutive starts (48).

- Holds the record for the most Coors Light Pole Awards, with 23.
- Has raced with his brother, Jason, in the NWSMT since 2005.

Jason Myers (No. 4 Ford)

- Tied with Frank Fleming for most career starts on the NWSMT, with 68.
- Picked up his lone win on the tour at Bowman Gray Stadium on Aug. 5, 2006.
- Has 49 top-10 finishes since 2005.

Mike Norman (No. 12 Ford)

• Will compete full time this season on the tour competing for Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors.

• Won rookie of the race award at the season opener at Atlanta Motor Speedway and at Bowman Gray Stadium on Aug. 7, 2010.

• Drives a car owned by the legendary Myers family.

• Finished 18th in the season-opening race at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Gene Pack (No. 31 Chevrolet)

• Career-best finish of second at Martinsville Speedway in 2006 as second-highest finishing full-time NWSMT competitor at combination event.

• Pack has finished in the top-10 three times so far this season and currently sits 10th in the points standings.

• Enjoyed most successful season to date in 2009 with seven top-10 finishes and two top-five showings in 13 starts.

Andy Seuss (No. 47 Dodge)

• Has won twice this season with both wins coming at Caraway Speedway. Won on March 14, 2010, taking the checkered flag in the Spring Classic 150, and last weekend Aug. 28 in the Triad Commercial Property Services 150.

• Hampstead, N.H., native won four times in 2009.

• Has 29 top-10 finishes in 40 career starts and a total of nine wins.

• Picked up wins at Lanier, South Boston, Myrtle Beach, Music City (Nashville), Caraway and Ace Speedways.

• Commutes regularly from New Hampshire to drive in the NWSMT and also competes in the NWMT when his schedule permits.

John Smith (No. 25 Chevrolet)

• Only driver on the NWSMT to finish in the top 10 in every NWSMT race this season.

• Has 31 top-10 finishes in 51 career NWSMT starts.

• Made 13 starts in 2009 with nine top-10 finishes, highlighted by a second-place showing at the seasonending Fall Classic 150 at Caraway.

<u>4-4-4-4</u> <u>ANALYZING THE LANGLEY 150</u>

Upcoming Milestones/Benchmarks:

• This will be the 70th race in the history of the tour.

• If L.W. Miller falls out of the points lead at Langley, it will be the fourth consecutive race that features a change at the top of the points standings.

For more information, contact:

Tim Southers, Media Coordinator, NASCAR Touring Series East, (828) 728-0417 or tsouthers@nascar.com.