.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




Chris Pasteryak, of Lisbon, CT, passed race leader Joe Doucette on lap 52 to go on and win the Valenti Modified Racing Series, Laticrete “Port City 100” Friday night, July 8, at Lee USA Speedway, Lee, NH.

The win was Pasteryak’s first at Lee, his second of the season, and his fifth  career victory with the VMRS,

Pasteryak becomes a guaranteed starter for next weekend’s big race at Canaan Fair Speedway, Canaan, NH., the 4th annual “Ricky’s Race for Kids,” July 16.

Pole-sitter Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, MA., was the early leader until Doucette, of Framingham, MA., took the top spot on lap three. Doucette took command for the  next 49 laps as he fought off Mechalides and then several side-by-side attempts by Pasteryak for five circuits before the 2008 series champion was able to move by.

Veteran Dwight Jarvis, of Ascutney, VT., finished in the runner-up position after starting eighth in the 19-car field. Defending series champion Jon McKennedy, E. Chelmsford, MA., made a late race charge to finish third, Windsor Locks, CT., veteran Les Hinckley III, was fourth, and Ken Barry, of Preston, CT., debuting a brand new car, finished fifth.

Sixth through tenth were, Rowan Pennink, Jimmy Kuhn, Norman Wrenn, Doucette, and Rob Goodenough.

With threatening skies and nearby rainstorms, the race program was hurried along by speedway management. The 100-lap race was completed in 29 minutes with only one caution flag slowing the event.

Heat race winners were Jarvis and Doucette.

19 race teams entered the race with all cars finishing. 11 cars were on the lead lap.

Pasteryak’s victory moved him into a tie for the point lead with Pennink. Hinckley is four points back from the leaders.

Standings: Pasteryak, Pennink (256), Hinckley (252), Goodenough (210), McKennedy (200).
   Race Summary:
 Race # 7 Lee USA Speedway

 Distance: 100 laps
 Time of Race: 29:16.229
 Margin of Victory: 3:590
 Best Lap Time: 14.733
 Best Speed: 91:631
 Lead Changes: 3
 Lap Leaders: Mechalides; (1-2) Doucette (3-52) Pasteryak 53-100)
 Cautions: Lap 25

 Order of Finish:
  (1) Pasteryak
  (2) Jarvis
  (3) McKennedy
  (4) Hinckley
  (5) Barry
  (6) Pennink
  (7) Kuhn
  (8) Wrenn
  (9) Doucette
(10) Goodenough
(11) Dore
(12) Jordan
(13) Holdridge
(14) Seuss
(15) Bateman
(16) Mechalides
(17) Savary
(18) Annarummo
(19) Frappier

Source: John Spence Sr / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: July 9, 2011

©2011 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.