.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series



Scores Big At Ricky’s Race

Louie Mechalides of Tyngsboro, MA., made his first win in four years a big one Saturday night when he drove to victory in the 4th annual “Ricky’s Race for Kids” 112-lap modified race, at Canaan Fair Speedway, Canaan, NH., before a large crowd. The victory, Mechalides’ fifth career series win, earned the veteran driver a $12,000 payday. The race benefited David’s House, of Lebanon, NH.

Mechalides, driving for Lowell, MA., car owner Kevin Stuart, started on the pole and led the entire 112 laps He received early pressure from series champion, Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford, MA., rookie Tommy Barrett, JR, of Millis, MA., then Preston, CT., veteran Kenny Barry who tried for 25 laps but could not overtake the race leader.

Kirk Alexander, Swanzey, NH., gave it his best, laps 45 through 64, and Mike Stefanik, of Coventry, RI., worked over the leader from lap 65 to the finish. But it was Mechalides’ night. It was his first win since September 23, 2007.

Stefanik turned in a strong effort driving the Ed Marceau #66 to a solid runner-up finish. Stefanik earlier in the day raced at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Nashua, NH., veteran Norman Wrenn finished third, a career best with the VMRS, Alexander was fourth, with Chris Pasteryak, of Lisbon, CT., rounding out  the top five.

Sixth through tenth were; Les Hinckley, Windsor Locks, CT., Mike Holdridge, Madison, CT., Donnie Lashua, Canaan, Jacob Dore, Sanford, ME., and Joey Jarvis, Ascutney, VT.

Mechalides becomes the seventh different winner in eight races this season and is now tied with Andy Seuss and Dwight Jarvis for fourth on the all-time winners list with five wins apiece.

The race, slowed by ten caution flags, took one hour and nine minutes to complete.

31 race teams entered the event. 18 of the original 28 starters finished the race with 16 cars on the lead lap.
  Race Summary
July 16, 2011
Canaan Fair Speedway Canaan, NH.
112 laps
Time of Race: 1:09:01
Best Lap Time: 13,723 (Alexander)
Best Speed: 87.357 (Alexander)
Lead Changes: 0
Lap Leaders: Mechalides (1-112)
Cautions: Laps; 1, 8, 10, 15, 41, 42, 43, 63, 87, 103

Order of Finish; (1) Mechalides (2) Stefanik (3) Wrenn (4) Alexander (5) Pasteryak (6) Hinckley (7) Holdridge (8) Lashua (9) Dore (10) J.Jarvis (11) McClay (12) Doucette (13) Patnode (14) Savary (15) Christopher (16) Zachem
(17) Barrett (18) McKennedy (19) Fellows (20) Goodale (21) Boniface (22) Barry (23) D.Jarvis (24) Coby (25) Goodenough (26) Jordan (27) Pennink (28) Bateman

Source: John Spence Sr / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: July 19, 2011

©2011 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.