.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




In what has become an annual August tradition in Connecticut, Waterford Speedbowl is set to host the 4th annual “Wings & Wheels” open-wheel extravaganza this Saturday, August 13th. The fastest short track racecars in the region roar into the Connecticut shoreline for a blockbuster night of motorsports at the ultra-quick three-eighths mile Speedbowl. The ISMA Supermodifieds (50-laps) and Valenti Modified Racing Series (100-laps) each make their second and final appearances of the year at the ‘Bowl, while the NEMA Midgets (25-laps) will make their third and final visit on the season. They join the Speedbowl’s own NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified® division (35-laps) for a night of intense speed and excitement.

ISMA returns after staging some epic battles over the summer months. Back on May 28th, the winged wonders kicked off their 2011 season at the Speedbowl with veteran competitor Russ Wood taking down the win in a race ended by heavy fog on lap-47, three circuits shy of its scheduled distance. Since that event, six more drivers including the likes of Chris Perley, Ted Christopher and Johnny Benson Jr. have reached victory lane in nine series events to date. Perley and Lou Cicconi are the only repeat winners.

Speedbowl fans last saw the Valenti Modified Racing Series at the track as part of the season opening Budweiser Blastoff in early April. Doug Coby and Chris Pasteryak put on a stellar duel, with Pasteryak seizing opportunity late in the race to pass Coby to go on to a home track triumph. Pasteryak leads the series points and is the only repeat winner thus far in 2011. The past two series races have seen first time winners take the checkered flag, including former Speedbowl regular Mike Holdridge. He reached victory lane this past Saturday at Beech Ridge Speedway in Maine.

The NEMA Midgets race in a special event – the prestigious Angelilo Memorial Race – honoring the memory of long-time owners and officers Gene and Marilyn Angelilo. The driver of the legendary Dumo’s Desire #45, Russ Stoehr, leads the points and already has a Speedbowl win on this season’s resume. Keith Botelho beat Stoehr at NEMA’s last ‘Bowl visit in July.

The current NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national points leader and defending national champion Keith Rocco returns to action in the Speedbowl’s SK Modified® field in pursuit of his 10th victory on the season. Rocco once again leads the division in both wins (9) and the season championship points standings. Jeff Pearl, Tyler Chadwick, Rob Janovic and Kyle James lead the list of those looking to keep Rocco out of victory lane for a second straight week.

Each of the four divisions in action Saturday evening tour the two-groove Speedbowl oval at speeds in excess of 100 miles per hour. The Supers and Midgets, buoyed by roll cage mounted wings and light-weight fabrication will see laps in the 12 second bracket. The heavier SK’s and Modified Racing Series will hover in the low 14 second range. Each division’s racers are capable of using the Speedbowl’s outside groove very well, assuring fans eager to see exciting side-by-side racing will not be disappointed.

Racing begins on Saturday with qualifying heats for all four divisions at 5:00pm. Main events are scheduled to begin at 7:00pm. Pricing is set at $34 for adult grandstands admission with youth age 6-14 just $10. Kids 5 & under are free as always at the Speedbowl, and the facility offers acres of free parking as well as overnight parking. Spectator grandstands will open at 1:00pm, just as practice gets underway. Pit gates open at 12:00pm. More information is available by visiting Speedbowl.com from a home computer or mobile phone.

Source: Brian Darling / Waterford Speedbowl
Posted: August 10, 2011

©2011 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.