.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - News




More than 210 race cars showed up for practice at Boardwalk Hall Thursday night in preparation for this weekend’s 9th annual Gambler’s Classic.

“We, by far, are excited for the next two days of racing action at Boardwalk Hall,” said event promoter and organizer Len Sammons. “With a large turnout of cars for practice along with more expected to enter on Friday, we expect this to be a grand event for the fans and competitors.”

Four divisions of race cars – TQ-Midgets, 600cc Micro Sprint Cars, Slingshots and Champ Karts – participated in the five hour practice session.

It was not surprise that Lou Cicconi Jr of Aston, Pa., was the unofficial fastest TQ-Midget in the field.

The defending champion of the Gambler’s Classic posted an unofficial lap time of 9.012 seconds, a few ticks off his 8.982 second record lap from 2009.

Cicconi’s fielding several cars this weekend including one driven by dirt Modified standout Danny Johnson of Rochester, N.Y.

Johnson has never competed indoors until he turned his first laps during practice on Thursday evening.

“It’s quite an adjustment,” Johnson said. “I’m in one of the best prepared cars, but it is definitely different than what we do outdoors. Things happen so quickly. I mean, you turning laps in less than 10 seconds.”

Action begins Friday with practice at 1 p.m. with time trials for all divisions beginning at 4:30 p.m.

The grandstands will open at 6 p.m. with racing action beginning at 8 p.m. The night will culminate with the 20-lap 600cc Micro Sprint Car main event and a 30-lap TQ-Midget feature race.

On Saturday, Fanfest, which will give race fans an opportunity to meet the drivers and get up close to the race cars, will kick off at 5 p.m., followed by racing action at 7 p.m. Feature events will be held for the Slingshot division and Champ Kart class.

The night will end with the Gambler’s Classic for TQ-Midgets, a 40-lap event feature a field of 26 race cars.

Cicconi (TQ-Midget), Kyle Hieber (Slingshots) and AJ Roderick (Champ Karts) are the defending champions. Ted Christopher is the defending preliminary night winner in the TQ-Midget class.

Tickets for both nights are still on sale at the Boardwalk Hall box office..

Source: Jerry Reigle / Gambler’s Classic
Posted: January 28, 2011

©2011 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.