.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - News




Ted Christopher likes this indoor racing gig.
He proved why Saturday night as he captured the TQ-Midget Coffee Cup at the Dunkin’ Donuts Center in Providence, R.I.

The victory was Christopher’s second consecutive in as many weeks as he won the Gambler’s Classic in Atlantic City, N.J.

With his most recent victory, which was his fifth in 10 outings in TQ-Midget action, Christopher of Plainville, Conn., captured more than $9,000. In addition to the winnings in Atlantic City, N.J., and Providence, R.I., he won the Leonard J. Sammons Jr Indoor Series for having the best overall finishers over the past two weeks.

“This is absolutely great,” Christopher said. “You can’t ask for a better way to start the racing season.”

Christopher topped Ryan Smith of Kunkletown, Pa., in the 40-lap race. Tim Buckwalter of Douglassville, Pa., was third, followed by Stewart Friesen of Niagara-on-the-Lakes, Ont., and Mike Lichty of Innerkip, Ont.

“It means a lot to win in these cars and at the Dunkin’ Donuts Center,” Christopher said. “Just last two years ago, we were all anxious about finally having a race in Rhode Island and to win a race in the northeast with all the race fans is pretty special.”

Christopher started fifth and really did not pose a threat until the 10th lap.

Billy Pauch led the first four circuits before Lou Cicconi Jr took over on a restart.

As the cars started to maneuver through lapped traffic on lap 15, Christopher used the slower cars and some aggressive moves to generate the lead from Cicconi.

When the race went to caution on lap 19, Cicconi showed his displeasure with Christopher.

“I guess he wasn’t too happy,” Christopher said. “He pulled up beside me and gave me a gesture with his arm and he bumped me a few times, but he thanked me after I won.”

Cicconi fell from the runner-up spot on lap 31 when his engine overheated.

Smith, who secured a ride for the Coffee Cup on Tuesday, did his best to get Christopher over the final nine circuits but nothing materialized.

“It was good we got to stick with him there at the end,” Smith said. “I figured he would be gone.”

Double heat events were run as qualifiers. Billy Pauch won his two heat events, while Christopher, Joey Payne, Matt Janisch, Frank Fischer, Friesen and Mike Stefanik had one win each.

Mike Osite and Tim Proctor won the B-Mains.

Bryan Shields of Bethlehem, Pa. won a thrilling 25-lap Champ Kart main as he took the lead with two laps remaining in the main event,

Nick Hadden of Vernon, Conn., was second, followed by DJ Shaw of Center Conway, NH; Mike Perry of Dighton, Mass; and Matt Fenn of West Springfield, Mass.

Double heat events went to Shaw (two), Gavin Soraghon, Gary Putnam Jr, Perry and Hadden.

TQ-Midget Feature Finish: 1. Ted Christopher; 2. Ryan Smith; 3. Tim Buckwalter; 4. Stewart Friesen; 5. Mike Lichty; 6. Mike Osite; 7. Frank Fischer; 8. Mike Tidaback; 9. Timex Morgan; 10. Pat Bealer; 11. Matt Janisch; 12. Paul Lotier Jr; 13. Aaron Bartemy; 14. Mark Yoder; 15. Lou Cicconi Jr; 16. Billy Pauch; 17. Chris DeRitis; 18. Mike Stefanik; 19. Joey Payne; 20. Glenn Reen; 21. Ryan Bartlett; 22. Matt Roselli; 23. Tim Proctor; 24. Jonathan Reid. Did Not Qualify: Tim Adams, Chris Allen Jr, Todd Bertrand, Adam Bartemy, Randy Cabral, Richie Coy, Steve Craig, Jim Fleisman, Bobby Holmes, Glenn Heverin, Jon Holmquist, Mike Iles, Jeff Kot, Dan Lane Jr, Bruce Leote, Joe Lord, Woody Pitkat, Frank Polimeda, Chris Stockham, Eric Mosto

Champ Kart Feature: 1. Bryan Shields; 2. Nick Hadden; 3. DJ Shaw; 4. Mike Perry; 5. Matt Fenn; 6. David Putnam Jr; 7. Adam Dion; 8. Rob Murray; 9. Brandon Rusczek; 10. Peter Panciocco; 11. Mike Sullivan; 12. Gavin Soraghan; 13. Jason McGrath; 14. Evan Beaulieu; 15. Andy DeCastro; 16. Shawn Solomito; 17. Jaime Jenison Jr; 18. Ron Midford Jr; 19. Andrew Swisher; 20. Mark Royce; 21. James Montpelier; 22. Brandon Tiezzi; 23. Eric Zeh; 24. Glen Meisenhelder. Did Not Qualify: Marc Guerard, Josh Hedges, Michael Marfeo, Stephen Morsillo, Roger Nickerson, Simon Olean, Mike Panciocco, Eric Snow, Nathan Tracy, Jeff Wood, Bob Parker, Josh Parks, Randy Brundage.


Source: Ernie Saxton Communications, Inc. / Coffee Cup
Posted: February 6, 2011

©2011 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.