.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - RoC DART Asphalt Modified Tour




This past Friday night at the River Walk Hotel in Binghamton, NY the 2010 Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour celebrated the past racing season with their banquet.

After the delicious buffet style dinner and surprise dinner musical entertainment provided by the Westchester ( NY ) Co. Fire Company Pipe Band. It was time to celebrate the 2010 racing season and look forward to the 2011 racing season.

For the third year in a row and for the fourth time in his stellar racing career Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa. was the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour overall champion. However due to other racing commitments in 2011 Hirschman is unsure whether he will be able to defend his title or not.

After receiving his championship hardware Hirschman commented on his 2010 racing season. The Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour has been really good to me and my racing team over the past few years. Im not sure on the 2011 schedule and running all of the races due to other commitments that Im going to be involved in this upcoming season.

Hirschman did say what his main goal for the 2011 racing season is. Winning the 61st Sunoco Race of Champions at Oswego in July, Im really focused on it. Ive finished second once, third last year when my dad won his fourth RoC. I would really like to win my first one this year as that is the race Ive always wanted to win.

Daren Scherer ended up second in points followed by the Ransomville, NY duo of Erick Rudolph and Chuck Hossfeld with Rusty Smith in fifth. The second five in the point standings were Rick Kluth, Mike Leaty, TJ Potrzebowski, Jan Leaty, and Kyle Ebersole.

Special Awards from the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour were; Rookie of the Year Michael Speeney, Most Improved Driver Daren Scherer, Hard Luck Driver Jan Leaty, Owner of the Year Matt Hirschman / Hirschman Racing.

Specially engraved Hoosier Racing Tire jackets were presented to Marilyn and Don Toal for their tireless efforts each year in raising money for the Sunoco Race of Champions, which went over the one million dollar mark last year.

Tony Hirschman who won his fourth Sunoco Race of Champions last September at Oswego was also presented with a specially engraved jacket celebrating his fourth win in the Modified classic. Tony did indicate that he will be back to go for his fifth win this July.

Dancing and bench racing rounded out the festive evening.

  Source: JR Kennerup / RoC Modified Tour
Posted: March 5, 2011

2011 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.