.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour



Series slated to return June 23 for first event since 2006

Waterford Speedbowl management has announced the return of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the track in 2012. The race distance will be 160-laps with qualifying set by time trials. The date of the event is set for Saturday night, June 23 and will join the track’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series weekly race program that evening. The appearance marks the first by the tour at the shoreline oval since September 21, 2006.

“We’ve listened to fan and racer feedback and we’re excited to welcome back the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the Speedbowl in 2012” offered Speedbowl owner and promoter Terry Eames. “Modified racing is synonymous with the Speedbowl every year back to the track’s opening in 1951. And with Whelen Engineering’s corporate headquarters so close in Chester (CT), we’re honored to bring back the Tour”.

The Speedbowl’s three-eighths mile asphalt oval has hosted a total of seventeen previous series events, held 1985-1987, 1989, then again from 2000-2006. Thirteen different drivers have logged wins at the track over the series history. The two-groove race surface at the ‘Bowl is highly regarded by drivers and fans for its competitiveness, routinely staging exciting side-by-side racing action.

Several current NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour regulars including 2011 series champion Ron Silk have open-wheel experience at the shoreline oval. Active drivers to hold series wins at the Speedbowl include Donny Lia (2006, 2005), Todd Szegedy (2004), Ed Flemke Jr. (2004, 2001), Chuck Hossfeld (2003), and Ted Christopher (2002). Along with Silk, top series stars such as Rowan Pennink, Doug Coby and 2010 series champion Bobby Santos each own victories at the track in other divisions and will be hungry to add a prestigious Tour triumph to their ‘Bowl resume. The track qualifying record is held by former series champion Jerry Marquis, who logged a 13.618 second (99 mph) lap in 2006.

The announcement by Speedbowl management is on the heels of the track’s annual Season Pass sale which began December 1. The June 23 event for the Whelen Modified Tour will be a highlight of the 27-event NASCAR Whelen All-American Series schedule at the track in 2012. More information on 2012 season passes and additional news is available by visiting Speedbowl.com online or contacting the track office at 860.442.1585.

  Source: Brian Darling / Waterford Speedbowl
Posted: December 2, 2011

©2011 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.