## News & Notes



Defending tour champion Burt Myers returns to Hickory Motor Speedway this weekend. He finished second in the 2006 tour race there. Sara D. Davis/Getty Images for NASCAR

# **Hickory Welcomes Modifieds Back**

## Historic short-track likely to see plenty of action



Zach Brewer (r) raced at Hickory back in the 1990s when he was a regular on the former NASCAR Dash Series

Historic Hickory Motor Speedway will be the next stop for the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour with the Hickory 150 on Saturday, April 2. Hickory has hosted NASCAR racing since the 1950s and the modifieds will once again attempt to make history at the .363-mile facility. Two tour records were set at the track in the inaugural event there in 2006. In arguably one of the most exciting races in the six-year history of the tour, the race set records that still stand today for the most lead changes in a race (13) and different leaders (6). This weekend the best modified drivers in the southeastern United States will return to the track and attempt to set new marks.

Defending tour champion Burt Myers finished second to Junior Miller in the 2006 event at Hickory and is ready to add his name to the who's who list of NASCAR legends who have captured a

win at the track located in the foothills of North Carolina.

Myers will lead a group of eight drivers who have turned laps at Hickory expected to compete this weekend. Tim Brown finished second in his last start at the track with Myers third and Miller fourth in their first start at the track. Frank Fleming, Brian Loftin and Josh Nichols are three more drivers expected to enter the race that also finished in the top 10 last time out. Here is a quick 'By The Numbers' look at Hickory since eventual 2006 season champion Junior Miller won the first race held at the track on Sept. 30, 2006:

champion Junior Miller won the first race held at the track on Sept. 30, 2006: .219 - In seconds, the margin of victory at Hickory in the first tour race held at the track. Junior Miller passed Burt Myers with 33 laps remaining and held on for the win.

- 13 The number of lead changes during the previous race at Hickory.
  6 The number of drivers who led a lap in the previous race at Hickory.
  Drivers who led at least one lap were Josh Nichols (53), Miller (33), Brandon Ward (31), Myers (18), Tim Brown (13) and Michael Clifton (2).
- 0 The number of caution flags and laps in the previous race at the track.
- 3 The number of caution-free races in the history of the tour.

ENTRY LIST | SCHEDULE

### **Race Notes: Hickory 150**

Radio coverage: The Hickory 150 will be broadcast live on www.nascarhometracks.com via Speed 51 Radio. This will be the second Follow us on Cwitter

Find us on Facebook

#### Hickory 150

Place: Hickory Motor Speedway, Newton, N.C. Date: Saturday, April 2 Time: 8 p.m. ET Track Layout: .363mile banked paved oval 2010 Winner: New

2010 Polesitter: New

Event
Track Schedule:

Saturday: First Practice 2:30-3 p.m., Final Practice 3:15 p.m. -3:45 p.m.; Qualifying 6 p.m.

**Track PR Contact:** Kevin Piercy (828) 464-3655; hickorymotorspeedway

Twitter:
@hickoryspeedway

@amail.com

NASCAR IMC Contact: Tim Southers (386) 235-3634

tsouthers@nascar.com



#### **Fast Facts**

Race: This event marks the second of 12 races in the 2011 season for the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour. It is the only visit to Hickory Motor Speedway this season.

Procedure: The starting field is 26 cars, including provisionals. The first 23 cars will qualify through two-lap time trials. The remaining three spots will be awarded through the provisional process. The race will be 150 lans

**Track:** The tracks in a .363-mile paved oval with 14 degrees of banking in Turns 1 & 2 and 12 degrees of banking in Turns 3 & 4. The straight-aways have eight degrees of banking.

Records: Qualifying: Burt Myers, Sept. 30 2006, 89.534 mph; Race: Junior Miller, Sept. 30, 2006, 82.548 mph, southern modified race broadcast live this season. Veteran announcer Bob Dillner will lead a crew that includes Elgin Traylor and Matt Kentfield.

**Up front:** Tour veteran Josh Nichols led his only career laps in the 2006 race at Hickory. Nichols led a race-high 53 laps and finished 10th in the final results. **Burt Myers to visit school:** The defending tour champion will visit East Alexander Middle school Friday to illustrate to students how the science and math they are taught is used in racing on a daily basis.

**Anniversary time:** Hickory Motor Speedway will celebrate its 60th consecutive year of operation later this summer with a special event scheduled for July that will feature many of the NASCAR legends who competed at the track through the years.

**Famous names:** The late Ralph Earnhardt won a total of five track championships at the track while NASCAR Hall of Fame members Ned Jarrett and Junior Johnson also own track championships. Current drivers competing in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series who have raced at the track include: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Brian Vickers, Trevor Bayne and Regan Smith.

### **Birthplace To The Stars**

Hickory Motor Speedway offers one of the longest running programs in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series. Andy Mercer won the past two Late Model Stock track championships.

While Mercer has moved on, one driver expected to challenge this year is



Dexter Canipe Jr. The Maiden, N.C., driver is the son of 1997 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion and finished third in the standings last year.

Previous track champions at Hickory include NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver

Dennis Setzer (1983 & 1993), retired NASCAR champions Ned Jarrett (1955), Jack Ingram (1968, 1971) and NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champions Dexter Canipe (1998) and Max Prestwood Jr. (1984, 1985, 1990, 1995). Note: Years as Hickory track champion in parentheses.

The track known as the 'Birthplace of the NASCAR Stars' features Limited Late Models, Trucks, Street Stocks, Pro 4's and Hobby cars and holds events from March through October.

The track holds four special events each year for the Late Model Stock division. The Bobby Isaac and Dwight Huffman Memorial races held in July and September, respectively. The final event for the division is the Fall Brawl held in October.

#### **Last Week's Event**

Rain forced NASCAR and Caraway Speedway officials to postpone the running of the Caraway 150. A make-up date will be announced in the near future. The track, located near Asheboro, N.C., will host five of the remaining 12 races on the 2011 Whelen Southern Modified Tour schedule. The next regularly-scheduled race for the tour at the track is Saturday, April 23.

#### **Up Next: South Boston 150**

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will visit South Boston Speedway for the South Boston 150 on Saturday, April 16 at 8 p.m. James Civali won last year's race at the track.

Forward email

SafeUnsubscribe

This email was sent to  $rgrodski@thechromehorn.com\ by \underline{tsouthers@nascar.com} \ \underline{Update\ Profile/Email\ Address}\ |\ Instant\ removal\ with\ \underline{SafeUnsubscribe}^{tm}\ |\ \underline{Privacy\ Policy.}$ 

NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications | 1 Daytona Blvd | Daytona Beach | FL | 32084

39 minutes 15 seconds.

Join Our Mailing List!



