Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour



Second Whelen Southern Modified Tour Win In A Row

L.W. Miller made it two in a row in NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour action in 2011, and two in a row at Bowman Gray Stadium when he repeated as victor of the Strutmasters.com 199.

Miller, from Dushore , Pa. , wrestled the lead from pole winner George Brunnhoelzl III on Lap 97 and held on through four restarts and a hard charge from Burt Myers for his record 13th career victory in Whelen Southern Modified Tour action. He became the first driver in the seven-year history of the event to win back-to-back races at Bowman Gray.

Miller also drove the No. 36 Speedco/Lucas Oil Chevrolet to victory in the previous race at Caraway Speedway on July 1 in Asheboro , N.C.

“It has been an amazing past few weeks,” Miller said after his win. “We went to Caraway and after a year of being close but not being able to put it all together, and we finally had a great race there and won that (race). From that point on I thought we have a chance to win this championship if we win every race and that is what we got to do and it started here tonight.”

Miller was able to pass Brunnhoelzl on Lap 97 after the two bumped a little and Miller held on the rest of the way.  

Myers, who was spun out on Lap 54 and blended in eighth, was able to work his way back up through the field to supply plenty of pressure on Miller down the stretch. A two-time winner of the Strutmasters.com 199 himself, Myers had to settle for a second-place finish.

“I am happy but I am not satisfied,” said Myers after the race. “To go through the adversity we had to face and come back and have a legitimate shot at the win, I am somewhat happy.”

Myers thought if the race went green long enough he might have a chance get by Miller, but when Andy Seuss and Tim Brown got together to bring out the eighth and final caution flag of the race – it ended any chance for Myers to make his move with less than 10 laps to go.

“I think I could have got the 36 [Miller] if we had stayed green long enough,” Myers added. “All in all it was a good night for us.”

Brunnhoelzl crossed the line third and, although he fell back as far as sixth after leading the first half of the race, felt he had a car capable of winning. And he wasn’t happy with how he felt he was raced with for the lead.

“It’s tough to keep the car under when someone comes in and just drills you in the back,” Brunnhoelzl said. “It’s a shame somebody’s got to beat you that way and they can’t beat you on the track. It’s Bowman Gray and what comes around goes around.”

Jason Myers finished fourth and Randy Butner completed the top five in his first tour start this season. Mike Norman, Greg Butcher, Andy Seuss, Tim Brown and Derrick Hill - making his tour debut - brought home the top 10.

Hill used his impressive finish to win Sunoco Rookie of the Race honors, while Norman used his best career finish to win the Coca-Cola Move of the Race Award. Jason Myers advanced eight spots from his finish at Caraway to win the Featherlite Move of the Race Award and Brunnhoelzl collected his 10th Coors Light Pole Award earlier in the day.

The 2009 champion Brunnhoelzl used his podium finish – coupled with John Smith suffering his first DNF of the season after getting involved with Frank Fleming in an accident in Turn 2 on Lap 122 – to increase his lead over Smith to 131 (1,045-914), while Miller sits just four points back in third with 910. Jason Myers and Seuss complete the top five.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will return to action on Aug. 24 with the UNOH Perfect Storm 150 combination race with the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour at Bristol ( Tenn. ) Motor Speedway.


Whelen Southern Modified Tour-Strutmasters.com 199 Results
Saturday At Bowman Gray Stadium, Winston-Salem, N.C.
Lap length:
0.25 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (3) L.W. Miller, Dushore, PA, Chevrolet, 199 laps, 47.671 mph.
  2.   (2) Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, NC, Ford, 199.
  3.   (1) George Brunnhoelzl III, West Babylon, NY, Chevrolet, 199.
  4.   (9) Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, NC, Ford, 199.
  5.   (8) Randy Butner, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 199.
  6. (14) Mike Norman, Lewisville, NC, Ford, 199.
  7. (13) Greg Butcher, Mocksville, NC, Chevrolet, 199.
  8. (10) Andy Seuss, Hampstead, NH, Chevrolet, 199.
  9. (12) Tim Brown, Cana, VA, Chevrolet, 198.
10. (16) Derrick Hill, Westfield, N.C., Pontiac, 192.
11.   (5) Josh Nichols, Winston-Salem, NC, Chevrolet, 179.
12.   (6) Frank Fleming, Mt. Airy, NC, Ford, 172.
13.   (7) John Smith, Mount Airy, NC, Chevrolet, 122, accident.
14. (11) Jonathan Kievman, Deerfield Beach, FL, Chevrolet, 58, accident.
15. (15) Austin Pack, Winston-Salem, NC, Chevrolet, 44, mechanical.
16.   (4) Dean Ward, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 10, mechanical.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
1 hour 2 minutes 37 seconds
Margin of Victory: .514 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: G. Brunnhoelzl III (64.832 mph, 13.882 seconds)
Caution Flags: 8 for 45 laps.
Lead Changes: 1 among 2 drivers.
Lap Leaders: G. Brunnhoelzl III 1-86; L. Miller 87-199.

Standings: 1. G. Brunnhoelzl III, 1045; 2. J. Smith, 914; 3. L. Miller, 910; 4. J. Myers, 880; 5. A. Seuss, 841; 6. F. Fleming, 818; 7. A. Pack, 773; 8. T. Stinson, 742; 9. M. Norman, 728; 10. T. Brown, 725.


  Source: Timothy Southers / NASCAR
Posted: August 8, 2011

©2011 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.