Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour



Grabs 9th career win in Whelen Southern Modified Tour

Andy Seuss repeated at Caraway Speedway, winning the Caraway 150 NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race on Friday night.

The 24-year-old driver from Hampstead, N.H., battled L.W. Miller early and then pulled away from George Brunnhoelzl III in the late stages to score his ninth career series win - his fifth at Caraway in 23 starts.

His last series win came in this event a year ago.

Seuss, who entered the event fifth in the championship standings, had a nearly perfect day at the .455-mile track, topping the practice speeds early and then winning his fifth career Coors Light Pole Award in qualifying.

Although he led from the drop of the green, Seuss had to battle back after L.W. Miller took the lead from him on Lap 14. Seuss muscled his way by Miller on lap 50 and held command from there in his No. 11 Phoenix Pre-Owned/Triad Auto Sales Dodge.

It was an emotional win for Seuss, and a family reunion of sorts. His current car owner Eddie Harvey and his car owner from last season, David Riggs joined forces in this race.

“We were able to get this car from David and he and Eddie worked together to make this happen as we needed this car after racing at Bristol on Wednesday,” Seuss said. “I am so happy for this team.”

The Caraway 150 was the first race Riggs attended this season after the sudden death of his son Jeff last November. Jeff Riggs was the crew chief for Seuss last season and getting his first win for new car owner Eddie Harvey and also for David Riggs was something Seuss will never forget.

“I can’t believe this (win) happened on a perfect weekend,” Seuss said. “I am speechless and it’s pretty surreal … I didn’t think surreal moments happened like this. I didn’t know if this car would ever get back to the track and I didn’t know if I was going to finish the year. I can’t thank Eddie Harvey enough.”

Seuss started the year driving the No. 44 Chevrolet and switched to the No. 11 during the spring break prior to the July race at Caraway.

“I am real proud to give this team their first victory in the No. 11 car and I can’t thank them enough for believing in me,” Seuss added. “This win is for Jeff Riggs.”

Brunnhoelzl, who started eighth, worked his way to the front in pursuit of the lead - but in the closing laps Seuss pulled away.

“We had a really good car and I could gain a little in the turns but I couldn’t keep up in the straightaways,” Brunnhoelzl said. “Hats off to Ideal Racing, [David] Riggs Racing and everybody. It is awesome to see that car in Victory Lane.”

They were followed to the finish by Jason Myers, with Frank Fleming taking fourth and John Smith in fifth. Rounding out the top 10 were Miller, Daniel Hemric, Renee Dupuis, Austin Pack and Burt Myers.

Jason Myers had one of the fastest cars late in the race and was happy with his third-place finish at Caraway.

“I left a lot on the table in qualifying,” Myers said. “I think that cost us tonight as we really needed track position.”

The race was slowed twice by caution with a red flag given during each instance for extensive track cleanup.

With his runner-up finish, Brunnhoelzl added to his lead in the championship standings with 1,349 points. Smith is second with 1,224, followed by Miller with 1,211, Jason Myers with 1,210 and Seuss with 1,201. Fleming at 1,158, Tim Brown at 1,106, Pack at 1,071, Burt Myers at 882 and Thomas Stinson at 742 complete the top 10 in the standings.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will return to the track next week in the Newport News Shipbuilding 150 at Langley Speedway in Hampton (Va.) on Saturday, Sept. 3.


Whelen Southern Modified Tour-Caraway 150 Unofficial Results
Friday At Caraway (N.C.) Speedway, Asheboro, N.C.
Lap length:
0.455 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (1) Andy Seuss, Hampstead, NH, Dodge, 150 laps, 72.735 mph.
  2.   (8) George Brunnhoelzl III, West Babylon, NY, Chevrolet, 150.
  3.   (5) Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, NC, Ford, 150.
  4.   (4) Frank Fleming, Mt. Airy, NC, Ford, 150.
  5. (12) John Smith, Mount Airy, NC, Chevrolet, 150.
  6.   (2) L.W. Miller, Dushore, PA, Chevrolet, 150.
  7. (11) Daniel Hemric, Kannapolis, N.C., Pontiac, 150.
  8.   (9) Renee Dupuis, Glastonbury, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
  9.   (7) Austin Pack, Winston-Salem, NC, Chevrolet, 148.
10.   (3) Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, NC, Ford, 94, engine.
11. (13) Donnie Lacks, Forrest, Va., Chevrolet, 81, electrical.
12.   (6) Tim Brown, Cana, VA, Chevrolet, 69, electrical.
13. (10) Brandon Ward, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 3, engine.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
0 hours 56 minutes 18 seconds
Margin of Victory: 1.144 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: A.Seuss (102.838 mph, 15.928 seconds)
Caution Flags: 2 for 22 laps.
Lead Changes: 2 among 2 drivers.
Lap Leaders: A. Seuss 1-13; L. Miller 14-49; A. Seuss 50-150.

Standings: 1. G. Brunnhoelzl III, 1349; 2. J. Smith, 1224; 3. L. Miller, 1211; 4. J. Myers, 1210; 5. A. Seuss, 1201; 6. F. Fleming, 1158; 7. T. Brown, 1106; 8. A. Pack, 1071; 9. B. Myers, 882; 10. T. Stinson, 742.


  Source: Timothy Southers / NASCAR
Posted: August 27, 2011

©2011 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.