.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




Waterford Speedbowl’s tradition as one of the longest operating tracks in the country to feature weekly Modified racing resumes this weekend. Budweiser Blastoff, the facility’s 62nd season opener, once again honors the open-wheel, ground pounding Modified racecar led by the popular Valenti Modified Racing Series. Blastoff 2012 also plays host to a special 62-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified® race that begins the championship chase for the ‘Bowl’s weekly headlining division. Twelve other divisions join the blockbuster weekend of racing which begins with a practice session on Friday.

The Valenti Modified Racing Series (VMRS) starts its season at Budweiser Blastoff and the list of possible entries for their 100-lap race on Sunday continues to grow. Over 70 teams have already filed entries for the upcoming VMRS season.

A heavy influx of Speedbowl experience is expected at Blastoff. Two-time and defending VMRS champion Chris Pasteryak got his start in the Legends Cars and was a multiple time winner in the SK Modified® ranks at the ‘Bowl before moving on to the touring series. Another VMRS veteran to turn countless laps in multiple divisions at the shoreline oval is Mike Holdridge, a winner last year and top points contender.

Others to keep an eye on at Budweiser Blastoff include Doug Coby in the Czarnecki #20, a two-time Speedbowl winner in the series including the 2010 Blastoff, Rowan Pennink in the Casella #25, and past series champion Jon McKennedy, teamed with legendary Modified car owner Art Barry for the 2012 VMRS season. Popular series veteran Les Hinckley returns in the Montville owned #06. Each have Speedbowl victories on their VMRS resume. Todd Szegedy also has a touring Modified win at the Speedbowl in 2004 and is an entry for the 2012 VMRS season.

Speedbowl fans should have plenty of home track faces to root on beyond Pasteryak and Holdridge. Two-time Speedbowl SK Modified® champion Keith Rocco is a hopeful entry. Jeff Pearl and Rob Janovic Jr., second and third in SK points in 2011, are other VMRS entries. Other VMRS regulars with Speedbowl roots include two-time Speedbowl Late Model champion and 2011 VMRS Rookie of the Year Tim Jordan, and Max Zachem, a winner in Legends Cars at the track. Newcomers to the VMRS in 2012 include Mark Bakaj, a winner at the ‘Bowl in SK Mod competition in 2010, and Joey Cipriano, another former Legends talent and winner in Speedbowl SK Light Modified competition last season.

The series will take part in Friday’s open practice session from 5pm - 6pm. The popular VMRS qualifying heat races take place Saturday afternoon just after 3:00pm to set the lineup for a 100-lap feature race on Sunday.

A detailed schedule of events at Blastoff Weekend, including pricing and gate times, is available on www.speedbowl.com.

Source: Brian Darling / Waterford Speedbowl
Posted: March 27, 2012

©2012 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.