.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




The Valenti Modified Racing Series will top the bill at the Thompson International Speedway on Sunday, May 20th. The popular VMRS will compete in a 75-lap main event as the highlight of the day’s racing activity.

Defending VMRS champion, Chris Pasteryak, will lead an impressive field of Modified racers for this special Sunday afternoon race event. He will be joined by drivers like Rowan Pennink, Less Hinkley, Doug Coby, Norm Wrenn and Jon McKennedy. The 2012 season has been very good to McKennedy after having logged victories in both of the VMRS races run to date. The Chelmsford, MA driver won the season opener at the Waterford Speedbowl and then went on to repeat his winning ways at the Monadnock Speedway. All bets are off, however, when the VMRS arrives at Thompson which is the largest and fastest track on their race schedule.

When the VMRS last raced at Thompson, it was veteran Mike Stefanik who claimed the win and lead the entire 75-lap event. The battle for positions behind Stefanik was tremendous as Chris Pasteryak, Rowan Pennink and Steve Massey diced it out lap after lap. At the finish line, however, it was Pennink in for second followed by Pasteryak, Massey and Les Hinckley.

Joining the Valenti Modifieds will be Thompson’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series divisions including the brand new LKQ/Keystone Lite Modifieds. This new weekly division will appear for the first time and will compete in a 20-lap feature event. Thompson’s Sunoco Modifieds, Xtra/Mart Limited Sportsman, Late Models and Monster Minis make up the other exciting racing divisions on the program.

Many race teams are looking to gain on the momentum they picked up at the season opening Icebreaker at Thompson. Sunoco Modified standout, Ryan Preece, will look to repeat his winning ways after a convincing win over Woody Pitkat, Todd Ceravolo, Ted Christopher and Kerry Malone. Pitkat, competing in two divisions, found himself in second place at the end of the Late Model feature event which was won by Tommy O’Sullivan.

Scott Sundeen opened his season with a win in the Xtra/Mart Limited Sportsman division and Glenn Boss showed everyone the quick way around in his Thompson Modified. Tyler Poulin bested a tough field of racers and drove to victory in the Monster Mini Stock division.
Following the May 20th VMRS event, Thompson will go through a huge transformation as it gets converted to the site of the annual Eve of Destruction slated for May 27th. This Memorial Day weekend tradition features daredevils, thrills, spills, explosions, automotive carnage, fireworks and more. It is a fan favorite that attracts thousands every year.

For more information on these or any events at Thompson Speedway, visit the track’s web page at www.thompsonspeedway.com.

Source: Russ Dowd / Thompson International Speedway
Posted: May 7, 2012

©2012 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.