.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




Todd Szegedy, of Ridgefield, CT., passed race leader Chris Pasteryak on lap 92, and went to win the 8th annual ‘Firecracker 100’ Saturday night, July 7, at Monadnock Speedway, Winchester, NH. Szegedy becomes the series fifth different winner this season.

Szegedy hooked up in a side-by-side, crowd-pleasing battle, with Les Hinckley, III, of Windsor Locks, CT., for several laps, before grabbing the runner-up spot. Pasteryak led the race from lap 49 when he slipped up allowing Szegedy to take the lead.

Tired and slow to exit his race car on a warm and humid night, Szegedy enjoyed the journey to victory lane.

“Those last 20 laps were some of the hardest I have ever driven in my career,” Szegedy told the crowd. “I raced hard with Hinckley there for god knows how many laps. He could have ran me up and I expected him to do it and he didn’t.”

Szegedy felt Pasteryak dealt him a winning hand. “I was watching the (5) getting free but I was getting free too. Finally he just got real loose. I couldn’t believe it. Kinda gave that one to me.” Szegedy said. “I knew guys were coming up hard. I drove it as hard as I could and we got the victory.”

Monadnock favorite Dwight Jarvis made a late race charge to finish second. “I love this track this is where I started racing back a few years ago,” Jarvis said. “The car was real good. Got torn up a bit in the heat race. The crew did a heckuva job to fix it. Thanks to Jack Murray and their crew. They loaned us a nose right off their car.”

Another local favorite, Todd Patnode, of Richmond, NH., also made a late race charge to finish third.” The car was real good all day,” Patnode said. “We had some trouble in the heat race. The guys worked really hard. I don’t think it was quite the way it was but it was still pretty good. We had a clutch problem earlier. It was nice to have a good finish”

Hinckley settled for fourth with Pasteryak rounding out the top five.

Sixth through tenth were: Rowan Pennink, Jon McKennedy, Norm Wrenn, Mike Holdridge, and Joey Jarvis.

The race, slowed by five caution flags, was completed in 44 minutes. 14 of the 24 cars that started the event finished on the lead lap. 30 race teams entered the race.

Heat winners; Rob Goodenough, (Engine Failure) Todd Owen, Pennink

DNQ—Malave, Fifield, Raymond, Murray, Seidell,

Point Leaders – Pennink (242) McKennedy (240) Hinckley (214) Wrenn (200) Mechalides (190) Holdridge (185) Pasteryak
(169) Bakaj (137) Zachem (134) Doucette (122)

Next Event: Canaan Fair Speedway, Canaan, NH. July 14, 2012.

Race Summary:
Race # 7 Monadnock Speedway
Distance: 100 laps
Time of Race: 44:32:514
Margin of Victory: 0.372
Best Lap Time: 12.792
Best Speed: 70.356 (Mechalides)
Lead Changes: (2)
Lap Leaders: Holdridge (1-48) Pasteryak (49-91) Szegedy (92-100)
Cautions: Laps 48,48,48,62,80

Order of Finish: (1) Szegedy (2) D. Jarvis (3) Patnode (4) Hinckley (5) Pasteryak (6) Pennink (7) McKennedy (8) Wrenn (9) Holdridge
(10) J.Jarvis (11) Gernhard (12) Shumway (13) Owen (14) Bakaj (15) Mead (16) Pearl (17) Zachem (18) Boniface (19) Schneider
(20) Mechalides (21) Doucette (22) Nocella (23) Barnett (24) Cipriano

Source: John Spence Sr / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: July 8, 2012

©2012 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.