.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




Rowan Pennink, of Huntingdon Valley, PA., notched another victory Saturday night when he captured the 75-lap Valenti Modified Racing Series event at Thompson Speedway, Thompson, CT. It was the first appearance by the series at the annual World Series of Speedway Racing.

The victory was the Pennsylvania drivers third this season and his seventh career win.. Pennink now has three wins at Thompson.

Pennink was the fourth different leader in the 30-car, 75-lap race. Justin Bonsignore, of Holtsville, N.Y., jumped into the early lead before Todd Owen, of Somers, CT., took over. Owen set the pace when defending series champion, Chris Pasteryak, of Lisbon, CT., took the top spot and held it through lap 40.

Pennink led lap 41, was never headed, and went on to win the event for his second consecutive victory.

Jon McKennedy, of Chelmsford, MA., chased the race winner to the finish from lap 54 on, but could not execute a winning pass. McKennedys second place finish kept Pennink 33 points back as they head to Lee USA Speedway in New Hampshire this weekend for the final race.

Steven Masse, of Bellingham. MA., finished third, Richard Savary, of Canton, MA., fourth, and Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, MA., fifth.

Its always nice to get two in a row, said Pennink in a post race interview. It would be nice to come from 18th again next week at Lee and make it three, good way to finish the season.

Winning the week before at Seekonk, series rule requires the winner start in the 18th position. Pennink said the flow of the race worked to his advantage.

The 25 car was awesome like it always is here at Thompson. We worked our way up through, picked off cars and stayed out of trouble. I didnt expect to get the lead that quick (lap 40) I ran my own pace and kept the tires under the thing.

Chris Pasteryak, Max Zachem, Owen, Charlie Pasteryak, and Norman Wrenn rounded out the top 10.

37 race teams registered to compete on Saturday. 30 cars started the race with 19 drivers on the lead lap at completion.

8 caution flags and a red flag slowed the event that was completed in 1 hour, 13 minutes.

Heat winners: Ted Christopher, Jeff Malave, and Richard Savary.

Next Event: Lee (NH) Speedway October 20, 21 (Final Event)

Race Summary:
Thompson (CT) Speedway

Entrants: (37)
Distance: 75-laps
Time of Race: 1:13:52:719
Margin of Victory: 0.143
Best Lap Time: 19.011
Best Speed: 118.353 (Masse)
Lead Changes: 3
Lap Leaders: Bonsignore (1-4) Owen (5-17) Chris Pasteryak (18-40) Pennink (41-75)
Cautions: Laps- 2,11, 40 40 (red) 50, 58, 66, 66,73,

Unofficial Order of Finish: Pennink, McKennedy, Masse, Savary, Mechalides, Chris Pasteryak, Zachem, Owen, Charlie Pasteryak, Wrenn, Holdridge, Hinckley, Jordan, Pitkat, Gernhard, Etheridge, Mead, Drown, Perry, Barrett, Barnett, Bonsignore, Van Houton, Oliviera, Christopher, Ianarelli, Seidell, Fifield, Doucette, Malave.

Source: John Spence / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: October 14, 2012

2012 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.