.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - RoC DART Asphalt Modified Tour




This past Friday night over 500 guests packed the Ballroom at the Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel and Conference Center for the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour Banquet.

Following happy hour and a delicious buffet dinner it was time to recognize the top drivers who supported the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour in 2011.

With RoC Administrative Director Andrew Harpell absent due to illness. Brett Deyo handled the announcing duties with Marilyn and Don Toal presenting the awards.

In his first year as a car owner and driver Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, NY certainly made the best of it as he dominated the RoC in 2011 to claim the Championship.

“ I’m very proud to come home with the championship in my first year as a car owner and driver “ said Chuck. “ The RoC Tour is a good series for us to race in as a majority of the races are close to home and that means a lot to a car owner with the travel expenses and with me owning my own business, you can’t take off a lot of time either. “

Chuck also thanked his outstanding crew for all of their hard work. “ All of the guys who help me out are the best in the business I feel and they all live right around me so they’re always at the shop working on the car. All of their hard work made it possible for me to show up at every RoC race and be fast coming right out of the trailer. I think I have the best crew for a short track race team in the northeast. “

Daren Scherer of Binghamton, NY continued his progression to the top of the point standings with a fine second place finish. Another young driver Kyle Ebersole of Hummelstown, Pa. finished third in the point standings with the Williamson, NY son and father duo of Mike and Jan Leaty in fourth and fifth respectively.

Candor, NY hot shoe Jimmy Zacharias finished sixth in the points with Potsdam, NY car dealer Tommy Cloce ending up seventh. Syracuse, NY veteran driver Doug Reaume finished eighth in points with Oxford, NY driver Rusty Smith in ninth and Palmerton, Pa. lead foot Earl Paules in tenth.

RoC Asphalt Modified Tour Special Awards were presented to Jimmy Zacharias who was the Rookie of the Year, Tommy Cloce who was the Most Improved Driver of the Year, Kyle Ebersole was the Best Appearing Car of the Year, and Chuck Hossfeld was the Car Owner of the Year.

TJ Toyota of Potsdam, NY was recognized due to their outstanding support of the RoC as they provided a new Toyota Pickup to the RoC that was at all of the races in 2011.

Marilyn and Don Toal of Rochester, NY received the loudest applause as once again they outdid themselves by raising over $22,000 in cash lap money donations for the Sunoco Race of Champions that takes place in July at the Oswego Speedway.

Finally Irish Saunders of the Hoosier Racing Tire Company was thanked for his many years of support to the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour. With Hoosier not on board for next year RoC wished them the best of luck in the future.

Fred Woodward of Lias Tire who distributes the American Racer Tire was officially announced as the tire supplier for the 2012 Tour. American Racer through Lias Tire will be awarding two free tires at each event on the 2012 Tour and has added $30,000 to the 2012 RoC Asphalt Modified Tour point fund.

The first race of the 2012 Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour will be Sunday May 20th at the Shangri-La II Motor Speedway.

For more information on the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour please call RoC at 607-775-5555 or log on to www.raceofchampions.net.

  Source: JR Kennerup / RoC Modified Tour
Posted: March 3, 2012

©2012 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.